We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great fun and very comfortable for a large group!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cameron House

Double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom
Hall Upstairs showing entrance to two further bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Double bedroom
Hall
Upstairs showing entrance to two further bedrooms
Auchtermuchty
Entrance to Cameron House
Nearby Lomond Hills
Upstairs bedroom
Hall
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
One of the dining areas
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
Lounge
Kitchen
Upstairs bedroom
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ken W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else - shoddy (see pictures)”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It's a shame about this place, the building has a lot of potential, though it falls short through lots of shoddy workmanship, and poor upkeep. It's actually quite insulting that the owners think that paying guests should put up with this (see photos).

Where do I start...

-One of the bedrooms had no working lights whatsoever - at the end of October, this is pretty useful!!??! Even the table lamps in the room didn't work. I offered the table lamp from our room (warned them it had a broken glass surround - see photos), and when we tried it, we found that one didn't work either. For the whole weekend, the only light they had to use was a table lamp (that they borrowed from my 5yr olds room), plugged into a wall socket at the corner of the room. In October, this is laughable.

-Someone had attempted to replace one of the spotlights downstairs before, but failed, as the fitting was still inside - but no bulb.

-In our room there was a cupboard full of junk that they clearly had never bothered to clean out (why not - do guests not deserve better?). Inside there was even used Christmas crackers (we stayed at end of October - could they really have been there since last christmas?), and a postcard addressed to whoever lived there once. This wasn't hidden - just in the cupboard. Also, stacked on the shelf under the window there was approximately 30-40 unopened (still in the cellophane) issues of "What Car" dating back a few years. This didn't really bother me, but I think it just helps to illustrate that the owners clearly havent thought much about clearing out the junk and seriously preparing it for paying guests. Why would anyone want to read car magazines from 2/3 years ago?

-The downstairs toilet - had tiles off the wall to access the stopcock. Shoddy.

-The downstairs toilet had the worst ceiling repair ever. Clearly the upstairs bathroom had leaked down at some point, bowing the ceiling. The ceiling should have been repaired properly, instead of polyfilla, that looked like it had been applied with a teaspoon.

-The coat hooks in the kitchen - there were only 4 but 3 were snapped off anyway - everyone had to hang coats over kitchen table. Would have been a simple fix to unscrew and replace the hooks. Shoddy.

-The crockery and glasses were dirty. I just feel like "come on! really?" again, see photo of literally a random glass I took out (they were all like this however)

-The dining room is a lot more narrow that it might appear on photos - not ideal for large groups, but this is shown on the website to be fair.

-The chairs in the dining room were broken, and should be repaired or thrown out (photos)

-The dining room had exposed heating pipes that looked a mess, and were very hot to touch (not great for kids). Clearly these were originally concealed behind the wall, but the wall has since been removed and not replaced which explains why they are on show.

-One of the rooms still contained stuff from the previous guests??!? Aftershave and hairdryer still left there. Like I say, not cleaned properly (see photos)

-One of the beds had a terrible, terrible "repair" - that we found out only by a lad complaining of a sore back (again, see photos). A piece of wood just wedged under? Again, it makes you think "really???? you think guests don't deserve better?"

-another of the beds was a bit "cheap and chatty" and even the motion of turning over in bed (a slim guy too!!) popped the slats out and he sunk through the bed to the floor (not great at 4 in the morning).

-Living room carpet was very dirty.

-Stair carpet was very dirty.

-Upstairs shower was installed "shoddy" - again, look at the photos.

-Upstairs bathroom had a poorly repaired floor, that bowed under your weight.

-and there were either mice/rats that woke me up at 2:30 in the morning from scuttling around in the ceiling cavity. This type of thing happens in an old house - I appreciate that, but this should be sorted really.

-The living room was at the opposite end of the house - this was just an inconvenience more than anything

-The kitchen is small, and not very well provided for large groups. The carousel in the cupboard was very flimsy and one of our group only opened the door and everything poured out onto the floor. It's also very dark and dingey in there.

-Downstairs feels a bit like a rabbit warren with all different levels, and corridors.

My honest advice, until the owner of this place takes holiday lettings seriously, you should find somewhere else to stay. Trip advisor doesn't allow me to upload enough photos of everything that was wrong

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cairnie Fruit Farm - great day out for adults and kids
Liked least: Poor upkeep, unclean, terrible.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamzin M
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We had a ball but this was down to the company we were with not the house”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The facts,

Auchtermuchty isa very small town with 2 pubs (we went in one and can confirm it is nice and now currently closed to be refurbished), a post office, a Chinese takeaway and a little convenience shop. You can walk round it in 5 minutes. The paths are narrow and there is a very busy road so really unless you have a car Auchtermuchty may not be for you

The house is a great base if you have a car being close to Cupar, St Andrews and even Edinburgh (the zoo is more than do-able for a day trip)

Cameron House faces straight on to the aforementioned very busy road hence the bedrooms at the front of the house and the lounge suffer from quite a bit of road noise and if your sat in the lounge with the curtains open and a double bus passes you can wave to the people sat on the top deck as your that close. Similarly young children need close supervision when leaving the property although it is recommended you use the back door rather than the front to avoid exiting on to the main road.

There is very limited outside space so children can’t play outside although the house is plenty big enough inside

There are loads of bedrooms and beds although the house, in particularly the showers, are not tall people friendly as the 5 footer of the group who could touch the ceiling in the shower cubicle without arms being fully extended can testify.

Our experience

Travelling from some distance with small children the owner kindly allowed us access to the property earlier than the usual allotted time. ‘The key will be ….’ Were our instructions. On arriving to find no key we rang the owner who after a short while rang us back to say there had been a mix up and they weren’t expecting us until the following day. As a result they hadn’t finished cleaning the property and hadn’t left the key. The owner was approx 20 mins away so we left to have a wander around Auchtermuchty (see above paragraph)

On returning the owner had arrived and was very pleasant, he fitted a new shower curtain to the main bathroom, left instructions about the heating then left. It’s safe to say the property did suffer from the owners being caught on the hop. In the bedroom we stayed in the previous occupiers aftershave and hairdryer were still there, the freezer contained Yorkshire puddings and frozen pizzas, a pineapple was on the window sill of the kitchen. General evidence that we were not the first who had stayed at the property was continued to be found throughout the house.

Whilst mix ups can happen there were a number of certain things that can’t be excused. In addition to the lack of general clear up from the previous occupiers items at the back of cupboards had clearly not been cleaned for a while and things such as glasses needed to be washed before they could be used.

Pipework that became quite hot when touched was left exposed in the dining room (not great for small hands), stains that had clearly been there for a while were on the stair and lounge carpets, tiles were removed from the downstairs loo leaving an earth wire exposed (again not good for small hands), hearths on fireplaces were not attached (downstairs bedroom) and the backs of two dining chairs were completely severed. One cupboard was full of old computer equipment and personal post. There was even a bed where the metal sprung had broken, a previous fix had been done to it - a piece of wood pushed underneath it to prop it up which promptly fell away as soon as anyone lay on the bed. I could go on about further bodge jobs, broken items and general sloppiness but won’t.

We had a lovely weekend away. But this was down to the company we went with and the lovely Cairnie Fruit Farm and Craigtoun Park we visited rather than the house. Go to the latter two you will have a ball, don’t go to Cameron.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review.........it is always good to get feedback so that we can try and offer an enjoyable experience to the wide variety of different families and groups that have stayed at Cameron House.

Again, we can only apologise that we didn't have Cameron House 100% ready for entry for you, we made a mistake on your arrival date, which has never happened before.

We are obviously very sorry to hear that your personal overall opinion of Cameron House is not a good one. We agree that the shower downstairs does not have a high ceiling but just in case someone reading this review is under the impression that the shower is not able to be used by tall people, we would like to clarify that this is not the case. The cleaning issues that you mentioned would have been addressed if we had not made the mistake on your date of entry. Also sorry to hear that your personal opinion was that some jobs were "bodge" and there was general sloppiness........this is something that we would not agree with. Cameron House is not a new house, it is a listed 18th Century building and in our opinion it has a lot of character about it. We think it unfair for you to say "don't go to Cameron"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHa...
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great fun and very comfortable for a large group!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Upon arriving to Cameron House, it looked great! A lot of us had been dropped off and were left without cars which may have reflected on day activities but we went for a walk and brought plenty stuff to entertain ourselves which made the days fly by. Most of the facilities were great, the kitchen had everything we needed, even a coffee machine! Next to the kitchen was a small utility area, there was a tumble dryer and a washing machine as well as a freezer and a second fridge (definitely needed for larger groups). The living room was perfect for a large group like us, there were plenty couches and the large flat screen TV was great for watching films. The bathrooms initially were great, there are 2 bathrooms in the house which worked fine for 19 of us. However after a day we discovered a fairly bad leak coming from the upstairs bathroom which had left water gathered in the ceiling of the downstairs bathroom. I'm sure this will be fixed soon and this would not stop me returning. This then had left us with one bathroom between us, normally this would had been a big issue but in my experience it had a fairly minor effect on our time at Cameron House. The bedrooms were all great, except when more than one person sat on a single bed the bed slats fell through on multiple occasions, this occurred on most single beds in the house. All doubles and larges were fine.! One of the kind size beds even had a memory foam mattress! I was in the downstairs bedroom with a king size and a single and couldn't have slept any better than I did! It was perfect. As well as the fresh bed sheets the rooms all had towels in them for each guest which was great. Overall I had a great time over the 4 days we were here and would definitely return in the future.

Many thanks!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Wi-Fi access, Flat screen TV and the coffee machine
Liked least: Carpeted bathroom (personal dislike)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Thank-you very much for your kind review. Glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves and we hope to welcome you back again. Thank-you for your comments which we have taken on board.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie24...
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location for exploring the surrounding area.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Whole family (17) spent the weekend celebrating my Father's 80th birthday.
Property was in a great location with plenty to do in surrounding area.
The house was perfect for our needs with plenty of fresh linen and towels. Although there were only 2 toilets we managed fine. Would definitely book again and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam F
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a family get-together”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A fantastic house for a family get together - 14 of us covering 3 generations had a lovely weekend celebrating my mum's 70th birthday.
2 public rooms, gave us room to be together or do separate activities and the kitchen was very well equipped, allowing us to create our Heston inspired Birthday Dinner.
Lovely walks straight from the house, great board games - and 2 fridges, made for a lovely weekend. Thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing