We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not even worth one star”
Review of The Thistle Inn

The Thistle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2017

we stayed here as we were moving house and seemed a good deal and close to the Ferry, THAT WAS OUR BIGGEST MISTAKE.... we arrived and couldn't find anyone at all so we phoned the inn and a woman said she was on herr way she showed us to what she called a chalet, it smelt of smoke and not just one nights smoke it was very strong and she had obviously tied to cover this up with plug in LEMON ait fresheners which were far too overpowering for the size of the so called bedroom , on arrival we asked where we could eat this seemed to give her a problem and in the end gave us directions ( which were in the wrong direction ) outside it states B and B...this was not the case as very abruptly we were told no breakfast here its room only ( so why a B& B sign outside l don't know ) ALSO it was called an Inn we fail to see why as there was no way were going to get any drinks it was all closed up. we did go out and find food and on return proceeded to go to bed , not willingly as it didn't look to clean and there were stains on bed cover, however on lying down we find that the sheets and even the pillowcases stunk of this overpowering LEMON/SMOKE smell , l didn't sleep properly only on and off and by 4am my eyes were streaming and getting swollen l was concerned as to how l would be able to drive to ferry so we got dressed and walked out and got fresh air then slept in layby no way would l ever recommend staying here, smelly, no breakfast as advertised, no drinks, very abrupt welcome no interest in customer service. the room did need a good clean

Room Tip: cannot believe there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed over night was very clean and the owners were very helpfull would stay again shops and cafe pubs were close buy would go back in the summer time with family , only one let down was not having breakfast in the morning just a small blip

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We paid for the bungalow out back, was cosy and very warm. Tv annoyed me as the tv would do its own thing. Was clean and friendly and the staff could not do enough to help you. The cleaner was chirpy and would check to ask if there was anything we needed. The owners were very lovely and even bring us some wine glasses. Only thing I would say are the walls are very thin. Thank you for making our stay comfortable x

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We booked for one night on our way to Ireland. The first chalet we were given had not been cleaned at all. One bed had a dirty tissue in it and there was dirty underwear in a drawer. We were moved to another one and that too was not clean. The third one was ok,extremely basic but clean.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine5453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We booked for 4 nights and we had a lovely clean warm chalet we were welcomed from a lady called Sandra she told us on arrival if we need anything at all don't hesitate just to call her and gave us her number our room was like being in my own bedroom except it had a small bathroom with wash hand basin and shower there was hand wash and body gel and plenty of toilet roll lol also plenty of clean towels a small bin in bathroom and bin in bedroom we were reassured if we wanted clean bed linen every day just to call we paid for breakfast and we got sausage ,egg ,bacon,beans , we could also help ourselves to tea and toast with jams best little room I have visited in Stranraer value for money I would say

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank shelly6674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.5 km away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
116 reviews
0.4 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
393 reviews
0.4 km away
Ark House Inn
Ark House Inn
#23 of 25 in Stranraer
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#14 of 25 in Stranraer
31 reviews
7.9 km away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
1.8 km away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Address: 47 Dalrymple Street, Stranraer DG9 7EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range: $82 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing