We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, lovely hosts, clean and quiet.”
Review of The Thistle Inn

The Thistle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Budget stay but very clean room good offroad parking we travelled by motorcycle and I felt safe leaving the bikes. Our accommodation was an annexe to the rear of the main building which provided a quiet and detached area from the bustle of the small public bar at the front. Very clean bedding, all nice and fresh, tea and coffee and a clean bathroom, basic but spot on for our nights stay and 2 minutes from town centre.
Breakfast was included and pretty standard. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The annexe at the rear, all rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lawmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I had a one night stop here on way to Ireland. I booked this inn as was cheapest I could find on the Internet. As such, I was not expecting much at all. So I arrived with some trepidation, and was very very pleasantly surprised.
What's good: The room was large, bright, clean, ensuite, with kettle / mugs / tea / coffee / biccies, fresh towels / dedicated parking space / free wifi / and quiet while I was there.
What's not: paper thin walls and dated decor (but for price I care not at all about decor!)
I had to leave early before breakfast, so can't comment on the food.
Really excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to stop here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank AngusApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Very disapointed in the thistle hotel nobody there to let us in for 20 mins was put into a chalet by a young girl told to stay there until she found out was ok never returned chalet was cold went for bfast to meet a few other couples siting outside as door was locked so had no bfast disappointed with service and staff that was on in lounge was very ignorant when my partner asked if he could watch footie and was told no even though place was empty.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

a tale of 2 days .Saturday warm welcome given a family room 3 adults sharing on a main road with reasonably busy traffic and late on in the night the nightmare begins plenty of noise from the bar opposite but even more noise until 0130am from the thistle inn bar with loud thudding music until 0130am then ignorant noisy guests that were apparently relatives of the owner having full on conversations in the accommodation until gone 0330am .Sunday breakfast good with all you would expect and good service .Monday breakfast poorly cooked with half empty plates bad service from a young girl whose favourite saying was I don't know The family rooms were apparently more expensive than the bungalows . however the family rooms had no en suite the bungalows did the bungalows were round the back away from the noise and the family rooms came with plenty of noise

Room Tip: go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rash0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night which was thoroughly enough.freezing cold rooms we had to request toilet rolls.the bes were extremely uncomfortable. Rooms not particularly clean.the breakfast of which was included was awful when asking for some bread was informed no they haven't got any.this wasn't good considering we were the first customers for breakfast. Overall this place badly needs some urgent attention it simply qualifys as a 1 star b&b.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.4 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
382 reviews
0.8 km away
Marine House Hotel
Marine House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Stranraer
65 reviews
0.2 km away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#8 of 25 in Stranraer
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#13 of 25 in Stranraer
30 reviews
1.8 km away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
202 reviews
7.8 km away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Address: 47 Dalrymple Street, Stranraer DG9 7EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range: $81 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing