We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
14
29
11
6
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
29
11
6
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chalet style basic room after reading some of the reviews free wifi tea and coffee shower gel early ferry bed was comfortable warm welcome an overnight stay port patrick karaoke locals motorcycle key
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I had a one night stop here on way to Ireland. I booked this inn as was cheapest I could find on the Internet. As such, I was not expecting much at all. So I arrived with some trepidation, and was very very pleasantly surprised.
What's good: The room was large, bright, clean, ensuite, with kettle / mugs / tea / coffee / biccies, fresh towels / dedicated parking space / free wifi / and quiet while I was there.
What's not: paper thin walls and dated decor (but for price I care not at all about decor!)
I had to leave early before breakfast, so can't comment on the food.
Really excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to stop here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank AngusApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Very disapointed in the thistle hotel nobody there to let us in for 20 mins was put into a chalet by a young girl told to stay there until she found out was ok never returned chalet was cold went for bfast to meet a few other couples siting outside as door was locked so had no bfast disappointed with service and staff that was on in lounge was very ignorant when my partner asked if he could watch footie and was told no even though place was empty.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

a tale of 2 days .Saturday warm welcome given a family room 3 adults sharing on a main road with reasonably busy traffic and late on in the night the nightmare begins plenty of noise from the bar opposite but even more noise until 0130am from the thistle inn bar with loud thudding music until 0130am then ignorant noisy guests that were apparently relatives of the owner having full on conversations in the accommodation until gone 0330am .Sunday breakfast good with all you would expect and good service .Monday breakfast poorly cooked with half empty plates bad service from a young girl whose favourite saying was I don't know The family rooms were apparently more expensive than the bungalows . however the family rooms had no en suite the bungalows did the bungalows were round the back away from the noise and the family rooms came with plenty of noise

Room Tip: go to another Hotel
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rash0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night which was thoroughly enough.freezing cold rooms we had to request toilet rolls.the bes were extremely uncomfortable. Rooms not particularly clean.the breakfast of which was included was awful when asking for some bread was informed no they haven't got any.this wasn't good considering we were the first customers for breakfast. Overall this place badly needs some urgent attention it simply qualifys as a 1 star b&b.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Came to stay at the thistle great choice room good clean comfortable well kept staff could not do enough to help great night New Year's Eve sandy and Sandra great couple would come again beds comfortable rooms well kept quick wifirooms warm clean bathroom well worth the money

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank imtarfa5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews