We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place to stay with acres of wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property
View over Black Loch from Apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Black Loch from Apartment
Castle Kennedy Gardens at Lochinch Castle Lochinch Victorian Stable Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View over Black Loch from Apartment
Castle Kennedy Gardens at Lochinch Castle
Lochinch Victorian Stable Courtyard
Bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AandJOxon
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay with acres of wonderful grounds to explore”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent the Christmas week is this delightful apartment and had a truly brilliant time. My husband, our two daughters and I couldn't have asked for a better Christmas.

The apartment is roomy, very well equipped with huge bedrooms and incredibly comfortable beds. It was a real treat to stay in part of a Scottish castle with access to the stunning Castle Kennedy gardens right from our front door. We spent hours exploring the grounds, looking for red squirrels, hares and water birds. At dusk fallow deer appeared on the lawns like ghosts.

As this is a dark sky area, on a clear night the stars were stunning. We will never forget standing on the hills between the two lochs gazing at the Milky Way overhead. It was bliss having the gardens all to ourselves especially as darkness fell.

We hugely appreciated the welcome pack (the scrummy ginger cake was the best we have ever had) and the open fire was lovely. Even though it was the festive season we found lots of things to see and do - from walks on the Mull of Galloway, feeding the red deer in Galloway Forest Park and a dark skies evening hosted by two rangers. We'd love to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attractive and comfortable”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This three bedroom apartment is well equipped, attractively decorated and very comfortable. The staff made us feel completely at home and welcomed us with fresh flowers and a delicious home made chocolate cake. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: comfortable beds
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
735bonny
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hefty booking fee, deposit held back for over two weeks, basic maintenance neglected.”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Having waited for over two weeks for the return of a hefty deposit I felt I need to warn prospective holiday makers about this property. It was a lovely location BUT

Our deposit has not been returned two weeks after completion of our stay. We are being told we may have to pay for a quilt cover which ripped a few inches on a seam when one family member simply turned over in bed.

They ask to write down if there are any maintenance issues. My advice if you do decide to stay is not to bother to fill in this as you may be wrongly accused of causing the damage and potentially have to pay. In our case they referred to a light fitting which we did not notice and had not danaged. The email to me about the latter was actually quite arrogant about a trivial maintenance issue which is the property owners responsibility not the people renting it.

Bikes had no breaks or working gears so not fit to ride when we arrived. Some repairs done when we pointed out how dangerous they were. They are off road bikes, rusty and therefore not fit or safe for the road. Thet shoukd be upfront about the poor condition of these.

Toilet door lock cut ny finger on day one as it was not in working order. We asked for it to be fixed but it was not fixed at all during our stay. Luckily there were plasters.

No measuring scales in the kitchen and the measuring jug leaked. But delivered when reported it.

No towels in one of the bedrooms. Did tell owner and was rectified, but an Inconvenience.

Only one bedroom is a doubke. The others are twin bedrooms.

I am happy to give more detailed feedback including whether we ever get our deposit back.

There were some positives but outweighed by poor maintenance of the building and basic errors suggesting little attention to detail.

So, all in all a lovely location but not worth the hassle we have experienced. There are far better quality properties not too far away and with no deposits to pay and a better quality and experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: All the things that were wrong on arrival, the hefty booking fee and holding on to our deposit and tone of email.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissie...
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fab long weekend with our two dogs. We were left dog beds and a lovely cake. The apartment was spacious but cosy. Fantastic walks on your doorstep. We will definitely be back, thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a lovely time and enjoyed the cake and the wonderful walks. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible place for a restful holiday!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked this place for a break over New Year as a group of 6 friends who live and work in Edinburgh. It was such a peaceful environment - the castle grounds are really lovely to wander through, and the apartment itself is very spacious yet still cosy. It's far bigger than the pictures make it look, and had a very homely feel, with a beautiful wreath on the door and a Christmas tree in the living room. There was a delicious cake waiting for us on arrival, as well as milk, bread and other essentials, which also added to the accommodation's welcoming appeal. We loved having the fire - plenty of wood, kindling and matches provided.

With Stranraer such a short drive away we were easily able to stock up on food when necessary, as well as exploring the local area - lots to see and do! We went to see the stones at Kirkmadrine and to the Mull of Galloway, Scotland's most southerly point, where there was a fab wee cafe (open on Hogmany, by which we were pleasantly surprised!). There is lots of useful information provided in the apartment information folder, and we wish we could have stayed for longer so as to work our way through more of the list of nearby attractions and points of interest! The wifi was good, as was the television and DVD player.

We only had a couple of minor issues - the lower half of the oven didn't seem to work, the shower temperature was difficult to adjust and there weren't enough batteries for the TV & DVD player remotes (we had to switch the 2 batteries between the appliances whenever we wanted to make one of them work). However, everything else really was perfect, and we had such an enjoyable time. Would thoroughly recommend this place to friends & family. One thing to consider is that the apartment is up a flight of stairs, and so don't think it would necessarily be accessible for disabled or very elderly people.

Thank you Chauffeur's Apartment for having us - we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire & tasteful decor
Liked least: Half of the oven did not work and there were not enough batteries for tv/dvd remotes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Hi Eilidh, thank you for your helpful and detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed celebrating the New Year at the Chauffeur's Apartment. Thank you for also for letting us know about the cooker, shower and batteries. We have seen to all of these things. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing