We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality”

Review of Saffron

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Ensuite to bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Ensuite to bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Ensuite to Bedroom 4
Sitting Room
Sunroom
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Hall
Front drive, parking and entrance gate
Patio, Outside seating & BBQ
Shared bathroom
Garden
Utility room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan R
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great fortnight at Saffron with my family 6 adults and 3 toddlers. The house is Quality throughout and all you need is there especially in the kitchen. The bedrooms are perfect for a large family or group holiday. The lounge/TV room is great but I a agree with a previous reviewer that comfy sofas would be nice in there. Sunroom is wonderful to relax in with a drink and a good read. Garden is massive and great for the children to play in. All in all Saffron is "Quality"

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
523craign
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Luxury”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We having been coming to Portpatrick for 6 years now and fell in love with the place. This is the first time we have stayed at Saffron which is an outstanding modern home with a touch of an older large cottage. The house has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. A credit to Kim and the owners Mr & Mrs Baker ! We have already booked for next year. The house really is home from home and situated next to Dunskey Golf Course with incredible views. Thank you for our best week ever in Portpatrick !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katez2
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

No words can truly describe the wonderful house that is saffron. Our break was to celebrate my husbands birthday, we travelled with my mum and my mother and father in law and the family dog and the house was perfect. Kim was a phone call away and everything we could possibly need was situated in the house. The only critism we have is the lounge furniture, cosy sofas would be much better than wooden chairs. However we definately will be booking again next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ah0123
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house with views to match”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was our second family visit to Saffron House we find it perfect for our get together and we always feel relaxed when we are there. The house is large, comfortable, well looked after with everything you need to hand it really is a home from home.

If you like golf, walking or just chilling out I'm sure you will find Saffron perfect too.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponty55
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and location!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We are a group of 3 families, 6 adults and 6 kids. "saffron" accommodated us perfectly. The house is very large, modern but with a country cottage feel. bright and spacious and extremely comfortable. A welcoming accomodation with every amenity required. We do our own cooking at dinner time and the kitchen had plentiful crockery and cutlery, pots and pans. The 12 of us were able to eat together which is a first! Between the kitchen diner, lounge and sun room, we were never on top of each other and the house never felt crowded. We shared 4 large bedrooms, 3 of which en-suite and a double sofa in the large study. There were 2 trundle beds for the 2 wee ones-also extremely comfy unlike some. The 2 extra bathrooms meant no one had to wait to lose the loo! Everyone praised the comfortable beds-even the boys on the full pull down sofa bed. The kids loved the garden and played for hours but we were able to watch them and they were safely enclosed. Us adults enjoyed the use of the stereo, satellite tv, DVD player in the evenings. During the day we enjoyed the back patio (very lucky with weather but always are as portpatrick on Gulf Stream) and the views from the house of the sea are immense! House also overlooks Dunsky golf course and club house, basically right on first tee! Watched boys golfing. Portpatrick is a small but lovely seaside village that starts off the Southern upland way and is the closest point to Northern Ireland from Scotland! We've been coming for years, collectively and individually. Interesting walks, fishing and golf. A handful of bars/restaurants serving great food and offering great custom. Saffron just topped off our stay this year and Kim who we dealt with was helpful, friendly and accommodating-nothing was a bother. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable, home from home feeling.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing