We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Look no further than "The Bait House" for your...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bait House, Portpatrick
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bait House, Portpatrick
The Bait House from the front. Fantastic location and views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Bait House, Portpatrick
The Bait House from the front.
Fantastic location and views.
Entertain and relax.
Open plan with open views from every window.
A warm welcome you awaits in the entrance hall.
The first thing you see...is the sea!
Watch the world sail by as you dine.
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3.
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Car parking at front of house.
View of Portpatrick harbour and village from the front of the house.
2000 acres of sea and sky!
Breathtaking sights on your door step.
Bonfire and Fireworks behind the house at Life Boat Week. Book early!
Plenty of room to cook and chat with a glass of wine!
Sunset from your rear balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew G
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further than "The Bait House" for your holiday home in the Port”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Bait House with friends last weekend in March. Location is excellent, 2 minutes from pubs and restaurants. View from the front of the house is over the harbour and from the back, sea views, and on a clear night Belfast harbour and the Mountains of Mourne in the distance. Sunsets are amazing ! The accommodation is excellent and furnished to a very high standard. I twin bedroom upstairs, master with on suite and another twin on the ground floor. Open plan lounge upstairs with open fireplace and wood burning stove. Highly recommend the Bait house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
Thanks for the kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at the Bait House for a week at Easter with our teenage children. The house is lovely and the views are spectacular (great balconies for watching the world go by!). The house is really comfortable, spacious and beautifully furnished and has all you could need for a wonderful holiday. The weather was lovely while we were there and we enjoyed sitting at the picnic benches behind the house, with a glass of wine, looking over the Irish sea. My son was pleased that the golf cub was in walking distance and we were all pleased that the pubs were only a few minutes walk and served really nice food. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiralee...
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We recently had a 4 night stay at The Bait House with another couple and their 2 dogs. We were all agreed this is a superb place to stay. It has been extremely tastefully decorated with an excellent open plan kitchen and lounge area situated on the 1st floor. Given its prominent location on the harbour, you have a stunning sea view out the back window and a harbour view out the front window. It is a great base for walking the coastal paths of Portpatrick and located just a couple of hundred yards from the pubs and bars. Without a doubt this was a gem of a find in a lovely part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully appointed property in a stunning location.
Liked least: Only the very picky can find fault here.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thanks for the appreciation of uor efforts!! We aim to please!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillamb66
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best accomodation in Portpatrick!!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fifth stay in the beautiful unspoilt Portpatrick and our first time at the Bait House. We now feel like we have tried the rest and found the best! What an absolute "gem" of a property. The inside was beautifully and tastefully furnished with extra touches to make your stay extra special. The fuel burning stove added to the cosy homely feel of the place and was a very welcome addition. Spent many an evening sat round the breakfast bar in the open plan lounge/kitchen sipping wine and playing games after enjoying home cooked meals with the kids and their partners. The views from every window were nothing short of spectacular and we could watch the comings and goings of harbour life on one side and the fabulous waves of the Irish Sea crashing to shore on the other! Lovely friendly pubs just around the harbour with friendly faces we have come to know over the last few years, and how lovely to see the locals wave to you on your morning walk around the village with your dog. We were all made to feel really welcome and part of the community during our stay. All I have to say is that we all absolutely love this place and now we've found the Bait House we will be itching to return! Thankyou so much Robert, we are all very grateful and have had a wonderful family holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Thanks for the glowing review. Excellent guests indeed. Please like The Bait House on Facebook to keep up to date with the new plans coming soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
223nates
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A home away from home in a hidden paradise!”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The home, the stay, the town and the views truly exceeded my expectations. The Bait House was furnished and decorated with chic personal touches, elegant style and exceptional quality. When spectacular ocean views merge with comfort and privacy, I guess this is exactly what you get. I couldn't have had a better experience with a town filled with friendly locals and travelers. The Bait House made my vacation and I will be returning the first chance I get!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the decor/comfort of the Bait House
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2015
Thanks for your kind words,you're welcome back anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing