We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place and location , great accommodation...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Post House

The Post House, Main Street, Portpatrick
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Post House, Main Street, Portpatrick
Yard Yard & Seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
The Post House, Main Street, Portpatrick
Yard
Yard & Seating area
Kitchen
Kitchen area
Hall & Stairs
Double bedroom
Double Bedroom
En-suite for Double Bedroom with walk-in shower
Walk in shower
Single Bedroom
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom 1
Twin Bedroom 2
Dining Room leading to kitchen
Dining Room leading to Lounge
Lounge
Lounge again..
Portpatrick Harbour
Boats in the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fiona s
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place and location , great accommodation first class x”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a great little house for a family to stay in . All rooms were exceptionally cleaned and the accommodation is well stocked prior to entry . We felt that each room was of a good size and all bedding towels etc clean and fresh . Our welcome was friendly and smiley , William greeted us with a big smile and as we were early , offered to show us round personally and leave our luggage if we wanted . Both owners are so helpful during the stay and happy to answer any queries etc . The kids loved the place as it is literally a minute from the beach and all shops . The post office is next door to grab essentials etc. the house is well filled out with dvd , books ,games etc and misc items were placed in the dining room for you to look at and use if needed . Kitchen has all appliances and utensils you could ever need and we did I not need to buy anything at all , all was there ahead for us . Great place great location loved our holiday rental best yet in port Patrick x Fiona and Garry Schulte

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfectly placed in the village all amenities on your doorstep , friendly helpful owners and well stocked place
Liked least: Wifi not working updates only in kitchen downstairs upset kids ! Not a prob for us though
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you both for your kind words. look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffer007
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Went to PortPatrick to play golf for 4 days - excellent accommodation - clean, spacious - four good sized bedrooms and two bathroom - Susan was excellent with communication and was there to meet us - can't fault it at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good nights sleep
Liked least: can't think of any
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you very much. Hope you enjoyed the golf as much as the accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyMcC20...
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Scooter rally .”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thoroughly enjoy our stay at the Post House , immaculate , 2 mins walk to the bay which has several bars and restaurants overlooking it . Loved our stay and would definitely go back 10/10 .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for your favourable comments, we do appreciate when our guests enjoy their stay.We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
111jacque...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the list office to pick up the keys, the owner arrived very welcoming and pleasant. The property is part of the post office you can hear the shop chat in the lower hall which we found quite amusing.
Property very clean and we'll presented, kitchen has everything you need if I was being picky I would say the fridge freezer is a little small for a rental that sleeps 7 but there were only 4 of us. Plenty crockery, pits and glasses which was great. Lots of cleaning materials left over.
Beds were good quality nice bedding brilliant shower in the master bedroom.
We were lucky with the weather so the garden furniture came in handy.
I did notice 3 ants in the kitchen so I put the food bin outside and gave the place a clean but there were no more seen the rest of the weekend. That wouldn't out us off going back. The wifi is a pain the rooter is in the out house reception temperamental great in kitchen, garden and main bathroom upstairs if you are in the bath. This really needs attention. Again this wouldn't put us off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the amount of crockjery \ pots
Liked least: WiFi connectivity
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thank you for your constructive review, we take all your comments on board and will try to improve the wifi signal and along with perhaps some sound-proofing. We look forward to welcoming you again at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTattie...
Peak District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home in a beautiful Portpatrick”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Perfect cottage retreat, everything we needed for children and parents. Comfortable, clean and very helpful friendly owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully cared for cottage with everything we needed.
Liked least: Wifi signal was weak, but assured it was the present position of the router
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks. We hope to see you back in Portpatrick soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing