We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the most amazing places...!”

Review of Inverlounin House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from front Door On the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View from front Door
On the Beach
Inverlounin House
Living Room
SW Bedroom
NW Bedroom
SW Bedroom
SE Bedroom
Cooker
Conservatory
Dining
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Dining Room
Utility
Lounge
Inverlounin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amanda m
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing places...!”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I (Along with our dog, who was warmly welcomed) booked 5 days at Inverlounin. The only bad thing I can say about the stay is that it was too short - We didn't want to leave!
The house is situated along a single track road from the local village. You're close enough for 15 minute walk to the village, but far enough out to feel like you are the only people around. The village has a small local shop and a pub. If you plan to cook yourself for your stay I would advise ordering an online delivery from Asda which is located about an hour away.
Inverlounin House is the last house on the track, it's private, set in gorgeous grounds and takes the best spot on the loch. The house itself is immaculate, furnished to an incredibly high standard and keeping traditional charm. Sitting in the dining room with food and glass a wine, watching the loch change with the time and weather was so calming. There is ample parking space around the house, and the loch is a few meters from the door.
The location is perfect should you enjoy kayaking. On a calm night at the right time you wouldn't believe you're in Scotland. We managed to Kayak with porpoises on our first night, and seals later in the week. There are also fishing tours and you can hire boats/kayaks.
There are a number of walks, a small few starting from the village, and some only a small drive away. Loch Fyne Oyster Bar is located around 20 minutes drive away.
I can't praise Inverlounin enough. We've not stopped talking about it since we left and will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and the house itself. Second to none!!!
Liked least: The only minor thing I would say is having to empty the bins into the local bin pick up. Not a major issue, but we had to place the full bin bags in our car and run back and forth down the single track road as it is too far to walk
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I'm reluctantly writing a review as I wish this place to remain a secret, however it's only fair to the owners that I share what a fantastic, special place it is. I'm so pleased my hubby (39), daughter (7yrs) and Dad (64yrs) and I had the joy of stopping there.

You must ensure you fetch everything you need ie food and drink, however what ever you may not have thought, of the owners have and will have it available in the house. Easiest thing to do is make an online shopping order for when you arrive.

The views are amazing. Submarines!!! Waterfalls, red squirrels, seals and a bird watchers dream too. Every rock we turned over on the beach we found something interesting. We gorge walked from the beach up the waterfall. We went through the woods nearby. Caught mackerel from the shore. Swam in the loch. Hunted for crabs and did lots of fun walks. This with all the other lovely activities to do around Lochgoilhead made it a wonderful stay.

I cannot praise this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the house for a five day stay with our 3 grandchildren.

The house was situated in a quiet location away from traffic, overlooking the beach, and with spectacular views of the loch and surrounding hills.

The large garden was a haven for wildlife, especially the three red squirrels who appeared everyday at the bird table.

The house was clean and well equipped, with everything needed for a family holiday.

In the evening we were able to visit Drimsynie Leisure Centre, where there was plenty for the children to entertain themselves, with a play area and swimming pool. There was also additional entertainment provided for adults and children.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the children had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and scenery
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendyengl...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic Inverlounin”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned this very day from Inverlounin which we booked fora short stay for our parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary. Sadly..
..it was too short! We loved it and wish we had booked for the whole week. We fell in love with the setting immediately upon setting foot inside the gate and two red squirrel kits gambolled a welcome across the garden.
The house was spotless -just freshly cleaned and the welcome basket is a nice touch.The house is beautifully refurbished without having lost any of its original character and has all mod cons. There are two tvs, but we recommend sitting around the lounge
window (this in high summer once the midges chased us inside),and watching the
light change until the wee small hours. It feels like day lasts longer up there on the loch. We saw otter cutting through the water(albeit at 6am)plus mergansers and seals.The garden and waterfalls were fabulous -a plus side of all the recent rain.We spent time on the beach and had a bbq too.We drove over and hired a cruiser for the afternoon and saw some porpoises. Thanks John for making our folk's special anniversary so special. We did wonder about squatter's rights.....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Hello Wendy and thank you very much for your review.
glad you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again
kind regards,
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieWuli...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best every holiday”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our extended family holiday together every year and Inverlounin House was without doubt the best family holiday we have ever had. The house was superb with lots of lovely touches from the welcome basket to the games and books available. The house is at the end of a long single track road, and immediately you are transported to a fairy tale setting. There are three waterfalls on the property and access to the beach were we swam in the Loch. The views are spectacular and the weather glorious. We could have stayed forwever, it was that good. I hope we come back here soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing