We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yew Tree

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
RoadTripp...
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Yew Tree for one week in early January. The lodge is beautiful and immaculately clean. Just sitting watching the river flow was so relaxing. It's just a 10 to 15 minute walk into Killin, the falls were magnificent at the time of year. The hot tub and underfloor heating were great to come back to after a cold walk. We even had a sheep that would come to the floor to ceiling window to see what we were doing. Would recommend a visit to Highland safaris to feed the red deer if you have young children. The 'pub' over the road is not so much a pub but more hotel/restaurant but the food is fantastic. I would highly recommend this lodge to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The underfloor heating
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ipswichsu...
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Quality rental”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great modern rental with all facilities you may need. We found Yew Tree comfortable, warm and a great location. Good comfortable beds and a large sofa to relax on after a good walk. All the equipment is a good quality. Top tips are: Use post code FK21 8TS or you will not find the place. Book a home delivery for food stocks and use the above post code. Do use the pub over the road its great and the local Co-Op down the road. Don't think for a minute you will get mobile signal and the internet is a little flaky. Yew Tree is very new and I would have given it a top rating apart from the following very small points that I hope will be sorted soon. No toilet roll holders, no coat hooks for walkers with wet coats. Noise in the lounge/kitchen/diner can be excessive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and comfort
Liked least: noise in lounge/kitchen/diner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
We are delighted that you had a nice stay over Christmas 2015. Please note that during very bad weather conditions, we can experience poor mobile reception in the area. We are really sorry you found the kettle, TV and washing machine noisy but the open plan nature of the property means these are audible when in this area - we have checked these and they are all working normally and not making any noises that they shouldn't be making. We are delighted that you had a nice time and would be delighted to welcome you back anytime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jambohud
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So Chilled”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my wife and 5 month old child were invited up here by my parents who had booked Yew Tree lodge for a long weekend break. We only travelled up to stay for the one night due to work commitments but it was absolutely lovely. the lodge is beautiful and very bright and spacious with comfy couch, table and chairs and beds. The hot tub was lovely even on an October night you were not cold as the lodge is literally 2 steps from the tub once you are done in the tub, with adjustable temperature and different mood lighting options it was an excellent adition to the lodge. My daughter had a great time with the local ducks and red squirrels making regular appearances on our decking looking for some food, which we were happy to give them. You have a pub/restaurant just over the road and the main town is a lovely scenic 15 min walk away. Overall it is absolutely stunning if you are looking for a chilled, relaxing break. Hope to return in the very near future.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: hot tub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Graeme19...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

10/10
Place is stunning has absolutely everything you need or could want
I
We will definitely visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Patio furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing