We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house for a great holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Plenty space and total privacy for the perfect family/ friends holiday!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plenty space and total privacy for the perfect family/ friends holiday!
Morenish House, Loch Tay Loch side - a 10 minute stroll down from the house, ideal for paddling, fishing, picnics!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Plenty space and total privacy for the perfect family/ friends holiday!
Morenish House, Loch Tay
Loch side - a 10 minute stroll down from the house, ideal for paddling, fishing, picnics!
View from Morenish House - the twin pines, an iconic picture.
The Hub!! Incorporating kitchen, dining area, and lounge - and plenty space for everyone!
The Courtyard - a great, safe open area for kids to play...and adults to chill.
The Courtyard - from upstairs.
Early autumn sunrise....towards the twin pines from the courtyard.
Winter at Morenish.
Winter, Loch Tay.
Towards Killin.
Bedroom.
Bedroom - with a lovely view!
Downstairs has 2 games rooms, with table tennis, table football, as well as pool room.
The lawn shown here is ideal for all kinds of activities - anyone for croquet ?!
Side elevation (the old front door, going back many years...).
Lovely snowy scene, the kids have been busy....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lornamont...
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house for a great holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There was 16 of us and 2 dogs. Perfect house for a large group. We organise a family holiday every year for a get together, and Morenish House was ideal. Plenty of space for us all, and everything we needed. The weather was disappointing, but didn't spoil the week for us.
The booking process was very straightforward, and Alistair responded very quickly to every question we had. Many thanks. We would also like to thank John for his help during our stay when we had a problem with the water.
We will certainly be hoping to return to Morenish House. Looking forward to it already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space, inside and out
Liked least: The rain!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Lorna, thank you so much for such lovely comments, which I'll also be sure to pass on to John. i hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J1llybean
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Fun!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This large house, in the most beautiful location, was ideal for our large family gathering. Although the house was really cold on arrival, we soon had the log burner on the go in the main living area and it was really cosy! We couldn't get the log burner in the smaller living room, where the tv is, working without smoking the whole room out so we gave up! That room was therefore too cold to use. The beds were really comfortable though the rooms were chilly, particularly the one downstairs. We'd been advised to leave the heating on the pre-set timer as the oil had not been delivered and if we put it on constant it may run out. The oldest in our group therefore struggled with the cold temperature in the downstairs bedroom.
That is the only negative!
The house is a hide n seek paradise! It's so big. We had so much fun! There are plenty of kitchen utensils and the Aga is fabulous! The 10 minute walk to the loch side was lovely, through a field of sheep. We loved boating on the loch.
We'd love to return in the summer when the temperature will be better.
The house has little patches of damp and areas that could be more thoroughly cleaned, but on the whole I'd give it 9/10.
Take extra toilet roll if you're in a large group, and remember everything you need as there are no little extras like tea and coffee that we've had at other locations when spending the same amount of money.
Also only one bag of logs provided in the cost, additional bags charged at £5 each which was not mentioned in advance. Saying that we only used an additional 2 bags during our 2 day stay.
We took a short drive into Killin where we had a lovely meal in the Killin Hotel. The service was excellent. A picturesque walk to the Falls of Dochart followed.
This location suits young and old alike and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - amazing views of the loch and snow capped hills.
Liked least: Chilly bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great big house for large groups, family, friends,children and dogs!”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed at Morenish House for a long weekend . 21 of us in total including kids and 4 dogs! Wasn't sure how this would go, incase we all wanted to leave after the first night lol, but wow you really have to visit this house to believe the size of it! Lucky if we saw each other all weekend!! Loved it! We had so much fun, and could still find a place to retreat for some peace and quiet! The weather was rubbish but it didn't stop us going long walks and taking in the gorgeous scenery! Beds very comfortable, kitchen well equipped, a comfortable house in general , when the family left, my husband, myself and two girls stayed on an extra couple of nights and it was so relaxed! John the caretaker, on other end of phone if needed, very pleasant and helpful. Alistair the owner, made booking easy, very helpful in answering any questions at any time, always replying with a cheery reply. Definitely going back, great holiday thanks Alistair!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAD221022
Anstruther, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great place to celebrate New Year”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

From the very start the experience of Morenish House has been terrific. Alistair always answers his emails promptly and no questions are left unanswered, even helpful advice was very welcome.
We travelled to Morenish with a group of 13 adults, 2 teenagers, 7 kids and 1 infant (1 week old, who made an early appearance to make it on his first holiday). We also had 2 dogs with us. As the house is so big it never felt crowded at all.
The weather wasn't the best but because of the playroom, pool table room and table tennis room there was always something to do, not once did any kid mutter the words I'm bored! We also loved the communal area that had no TV where we all enjoyed playing various games, even a wee strip the willow after the bells on Hogmanay.
Apart from all these great things it was a case off get the wellies and waterproofs on and enjoy the beautiful scenery that Morenish house is surrounded by.
Thank you Alistair for such a great start to the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal large house for friends and familu”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 18 friends and family who had a great weekend away at this house. Very spacious.The teenagers/ kids took over their own section of the house with their own living room/kitchen/games room etc.The open plan kitchen/dining/living area kept everyone included while still plenty of other rooms for a quiet retreat if needed.The dogs enjoyed the rug in front of the log fire.plenty of bedrooms/bathrooms to go around.
We managed to get a mostly dry Saturday and headed down for a lovely loch side walk.
Alistair,the owner always replied quickly to any questions I had before we went. We hope to return next year.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing