We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway from stressful city life”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sam's Cottage

Sam's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sam's Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Sam's Cottage
Bluebells in Craggantoul
Loch frontage
Grounds
Kitchen
Sam's Cottage sign
winter views
Sunrise over Sam's Cottage
Craggantoul entrance
Craggantoul driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Edward C
1 review
“Perfect Getaway from stressful city life”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Sam's Cottage is the perfect getaway for anyone who is tired of the city lifestyle and who wants to take a break.
We found it extremely comfortable and enjoyed every minute of the extraordinary nature and wildlife at Craggantoul. If you want peace you'll find it here.
The Cottage itself is richly equipped with everything you need and was found to be absolutely clean. We travelled around to Inverness, the Cairngorms and the western coast and this place felt like a home to us from the very start.

We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatz85
1 review
“Relaxing, beautiful break”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here with my fiancé, we wanted to have a relaxing break for his 30th birthday. The cottage was lovely, as well as the surrounding areas and hot tub. Lovely touches. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm87
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a week at the end of August this year and had a lovely stay. The cottage has everything that you could need for a week's stay. There are some lovely walks in the vicinity and these are all detailed in the welcome pack on arrival. We made great use of the hot tub and were pretty lucky with the weather - only 1 or 2 days of rain.

There are many birds that come to the garden and it was so nice to put some food out for them early morning and watch all the different species arriving.

Unfortunately the grouse didn't make an appearance during our stay! We did get to see quite a few red squirrels though :)

The only downside we found was the cleanliness. When sitting on the sofa you could clearly see bits of rubbish, cigarette filters and old food poking out from under the coffee table - obviously this doesn't get moved when hoovering. I also went to plug my charger into the socket behind the bedside table and was greeted with mass cobwebs and dead spiders.
Only other comment is the bathroom could benefit from a charging point for electric toothbrushes as we had to buy toothbrushes when we realised.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeandph...
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Craggantoul , the Bothy last time and Sam's Cottage this time and it did not disappoint.
The Cottage is beautifully appointed and is a pleasure to come back to after a day out .
We took bird food and sat and watched them all from the glass doors/ windows come down (including a resident pheasant ) to eat it.
we also made good use of the hot tub which is perfect in all weathers but especially so on cold frosty evenings when the stars are out .
I can't rate this place highly enough. I will be booking for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: none of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gipperjoh...
Crook
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“If you want a relaxed chillout few days this is one of the best.”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had decided to spent a few days in Scotland for our wedding anniversary and came across this little place. We had nothing planned except for a few relaxing days and what can I say it was perfect. Sam's Cottage is delightful a small converted building with all mod cons and a hot tub with fab views. Villages, waterfalls and mountains within a 10 min drive. Ben Lawers is a must if you are a walker and the distillery in Aberfeldy is also worth a trip. Killin is 10 mins west of the cottage which has the Falls of Dochart and some of the best scenery.
There is wildlife in the grounds below the cottage and a 15 min trail to the edge of the loch which is well worth it.
The only minor thing about the cottage is the wi-fi is not very good and in these modern times some people may expect more but apart from that it was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation, the peace and quiet and the hot tub
Liked least: wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing