We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very special historic highland farm cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Highlander front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highlander front door
Garrison Farmhouse Garrison Farmhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Highlander front door
Garrison Farmhouse
Garrison Farmhouse
Outside mountain view and BBQ/Picnic area
Highlander studio ensuite shower room
Sunset view from the front garden
Winter view looking towards Loch Lomond and Arrochar alps
Highlander studio interior
Highlander studio interior
Highlander studio interior
Part of the Garrison ruins
One of our hairy friends
View across Loch Arklet towards the Arrochar Alps
View from the Garrison along the old military track towards Stronachlachar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Toni C
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special historic highland farm cottage”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at the Garrison during our West Highland Way walk. We were relocated from a bunkhouse which really was a stroke of luck. Kelly was so welcoming. She gave us a tour of the little farm her and her husband have created and some history of the farm buildings and its links with the Jacobite rebellion. Kelly cooked us a delicious venison stew made with rowan berries from the land around the farm. We were greeted by 2 geese in the morning, ate a delicious hearty breakfast and were ready for the next leg of our walk. The accommodation was lovely and the views out of the window spectacular.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Toni, thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you both here again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarryHots...
Salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming!”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Off the beaten track - 15 miles down a dead end road but a wonderful location and we couldn't have been made more welcome by Kelly who cooked us some very nice meals and gave us a tour of her small holding. We really hope we can make it back one day for a longer stay. Simon and Kathy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Hey Simon and Kathy,
Thank you for the lovely review. I hope your having a wonderful holiday and Kathy is not reading too many of her emails. It would be great to have you both come back a stay again in the near future.
Best regards
Kelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGGUk
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great welcome, great food and great rest!”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here after walking 14 miles of the West Highland Way from Balmaha to Inversnaid. It was a real bonus that Kelly came to pick us up at the hotel on the Way to drive us up the hill to the Garrison. This is not a typical B and B in that you are not staying IN the owners' house (which I personally sometimes find a bit unrelaxing) but in a lovingly converted self-contained studio apartment in what was one of the original garrison barracks. The Garrison itself was built for the Duke of Montrose at the beginning of the 18th century and those interested in history will love staying here. There is information about the history in the rooms. The room, to which you have your own private entrance and key, is en-suite with a couch, armchair,TV, dining table and chairs and well equipped kitchenette in addition to a very comfy bed. As we were walking with backpacks we decided to book dinner rather than carry food for cooking. We chose the pork chops which came direct from the pigs on Kelly's smallholding. These were delicious along with apple sauce, potatoes, carrots and kale also from the smallholding (currently seeking organic status and doing all the right things to get this). Kelly brought the dinner to our room where we enjoyed it with a glass of Rioja - they also have an alcohol licence!
After a great night's sleep Kelly brought our breakfast, again with mostly home-reared or grown produce, including home made potato scones and free-range poached eggs. While we ate that she made us up a packed lunch to sustain us on that day's walking - home made bread with home reared ham and garden salad - fabulous eating on the shores of Loch Lomond later that day. Before we left Kelly and Paul showed us round the small holding and talked about their future plans for the small holding with which we wish them lots of success. After meeting the animals and seeing some more of the original Garrison Kelly ran us back down to the West highland Way ensuring we didn't waste any energy before getting started on the next leg. A lovely overnight experience to be very highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome, hospitality and food
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you so much Geri and Steve for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and talking about your place in France.
We really hope to see you here again soon
Kindest regards
Kelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melmalino...
Puako, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular location, local character”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

When you are hiking the West Highlands Way as I was, it was a pleasure to spend a night in a traditional building on a working farm, in the heart of Rob Roy country. The room was spacious and attractive. Free range eggs and freshly baked bread were a treat, and just outside the door, the dramatic hills were irresistable. I greatly enjoyed my stay. As it is a bit of a walk up the hill, take advantage of their offer to pick you up (if you're arriving via the WHW trail).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, food
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Hi Mel,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and what an inspirational person you are. We really hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk on the WHW and look forward to having you stay again in the near future.
Best of luck
Kelly and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaleu17
Marzling, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Vielen Dank fur Ihre schonen Kommentare zu den Ansichten, cleanliness Raten eine hohe Priortat fur uns so freuen wir uns, Ihnen die Sauberkeit Ihrer aoartment geschatzt. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder zu sehen.....vielleicht zwischen Oktober und April ha! Ha! Weniger mucken dann. Achten Sie darauf, und freundlichen gruben Kelly and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing