We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Friendly staff”
Review of The Commodore

The Commodore
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Commodore offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Stayed at the Travelodge next door for 1 night on our way to Saddell.

Had an evening meal and a few drinks then a lovely breakfast the next morning, everything was nice and fresh the place was clean and tidy and the staff very pleasant.
They also let the dog in the bar while we ate which was a bonus.
Great location with stunning views.
Would highly recommend, will be staying here again next year.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Kenny, thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your entire experience at The Commodore. Your kind comments will be fed back to the team. We look forward to seeing you again next year. From all of the team at The Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

I went for a meeting and had lunch afterwards, it was pleasant and I will go back if I get the chance.

Thank HannahCarrick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Hannah, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear of your pleasant experience here. Hope that you do get the chance to come back for a visit, thanks again from all at The Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Very handy for the Travelodge next door with a lovely cooked breakfast before climbing a Munro!
Attentive waitress and opens at 8am

Thank cara04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Cara, thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast here, and hope all went well with climbing the Munro! Thanks again and hope to see you soon. From all at The Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Really good place. Nice staff, good location. :) one of my fave places in Helensburgh to go to. Love it

Thank Storm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Storm, thank you for your 5 star rating and review. We are delighted to here we are one of your favourites! Looking forward to seeing you again, from all the team at The Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We met friends here while visiting the area. We had a lovely meal served by a really good waiter called Justin. We were surprised to learn he had only been there 3 weeks because he was so good.

The only negative was the lukewarm coffee, which we did mention, but we were still charged for it with no offer to give us replacements.

Thank PWILBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Pwilby, thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind comments on our new addition to the team. He will be chuffed to read this! I can only apoligise that nothing was done to resolve your coffees which were not up to standard, as usually we would resolve it straight away. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. From all at the Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Commodore also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing