We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little slice of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Stob Binnein Cottage with the Munro Ben More in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stob Binnein Cottage with the Munro Ben More in the background
View from the living area across to Loch Dochart.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Stob Binnein Cottage with the Munro Ben More in the background
View from the living area across to Loch Dochart.
Large open plan fitted kitchen and dining area
Master king size double with built in wardrobes, vanity area and ensuite shower room
Downstairs en suite twin bedroom
Master king size double bedroom with Egyptian Cotton bed linen
Double bedroom
Portnellan Estate Boats and Kayaks. Free to use for residents of Stob Binnein
Master bathroom with bath and overhead power shower
View of Loch Dochart Castle on Loch Dochart within the Portnellan estate
Clay pigeon and target shooting avaialble on the Portnellan Estate.
Stob Binnein's very own secret swiming pool in Ben More burn. A short walk from the cottage
Remains of Rob Roy's House which is local to Portnellan
Walking and Hikeing for all abilities available locally.
Canadian canoes and rowing boats available free of charge.
Pony trekking and horse riding available.
Enjoy a days fishing on the estate lochs with free use of the fishing boats.
Mountain bike hire with many cycle routes available locally.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Climberbo...
Beith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked the property on the back of a trip advisor recommendation and we are so glad we did. We were greeted by Cameron who runs the property and he was extremely welcoming and told us all about the free bikes, canoes and other items on the site and we got the impression nothing would be too much to ask, we were right. The property itself was bright, modern and spacious, there were four of us with a room each which were well appointed. The patio window looked out onto the loch and took the sun all day, the rear view was to Ben More, still snow capped and looking fantastic. For two fishermen and two climbers/mountain bikers this was the perfect spot. I would highly recommend this property and we are already plotting our return later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities were great, lovely spacious house with everything you need and great views but the service we got from Cameron was fantastic, nothing was too much of a problem. We will be back.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like, the weather in Scotland is unpredictable so we put a hood up, sorted.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelKazir...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Service. Excellent Facilities. Gorgeous Scenery.”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The landlord, a one Mr. Taylor, was a thoroughly accommodating host, providing excellent accommodation as well as local activities to do - not that there was any need with the view one could get from the lounge.

Kayaking, biking, canoeing, walking, pub trips, exciting drives, bird watching, Loch Lomond Cruises etc. are all available activities that are well within anybody's budget.

The only drawback would be the fact that phone reception isn't very good in this particular part of Scotland, so Portnellan could do nothing about that.

That being said, one'd probably appreciate the calm from the buzzing, vibrating and other notifying sounds that so command our lives nowadays.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easter holiday break”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at this cottage over Easter weekend with the family and had a great time. The cottage was well equipped and well laid out for our needs. There was 9 of us ranging from an 8month old baby to a 76 year old and we all had a lovely time. The complex has plenty to offer and the owner Mr Taylor went out of his way to accommodate our needs. We would certainly recommend this to friends and we will definitely be back for another visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaJ680
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, host and activities for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Recently stayed in Stob Binnein and Merlin cottages with 12 friends. Excellent accommodation, homely and full of character yet very clean and well equipped. We used the canoes and rowing boat on the lochs and made the most of the great local walks. The owners are more than helpful and the area is beautiful. Perfect for a relaxing weekend break with friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful surroundings, very clean, well equipped.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;