We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
37
33
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
33
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchendrying roomfemale showerscommon roomstayed herewest highland waycontinental breakfasttrain stationbunk bedssmall villageenjoyable staygreat stopfamily roomtwo nightslocal pubwhwfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Perfect location for the budget minded tourist if you are wanting to walk in this fantastic, beautiful area. If you want to walk there are different trails for your level of expertise. The hostel is close to bus and train transport and also pubs, restaurants and a small shop. The staff were very helpful and hostel has all you would expect from a Scottish Youth Hostel including parking so even if you are just passing through as we were, it's a lovely, friendly, single storey overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Crianlarich Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Hello,

Many thanks for your very kind comments, we will pass them onto our team.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

My son and I had a room to ourselves, right across from the spacious drying room. Very comfortable with its own shower and toilet en suite. Receptionist was friendly and helpful and kitchen, dining and communal areas were great. No problems with internet and location was great for the town, train station and west highland way access.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Crianlarich Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Hello,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we appreciate it and will pass your kind comments onto the team.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Crianlarich youth hostel for me was a haven of warmth, relaxation and recuperation in fine surroundings and perfect location. After 50 miles cycling on the west Highland way in one of the worst storms of the year we rolled into Crianlarich youth hostel which we had pre booked. Friendly staff welcomed us, stored our bikes and showed us the accommodation and booked us in for breakfast. They also gave us the low down on the best options for getting fed in the village at our late hour of arrival. The youth hostel staff were fantastic and full of enthusiasm. The bunks were comfortable, the showers warm and the drying room ample. There's even a reading and games lounge.
Unlike traditional youth hostels you don't have to do a chore before leaving- bonus!

NB: I noticed some bad reviews on here, I honestly can't think why. Maybe if you want a 5 star hotel, don't go to a youth hostel! This hostel was great and I hope to be back.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Crianlarich Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Wow.

Thanks so much for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the team at Crianlarich.

Thanks

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I've been here several times and always enjoy my stay. The hostel is situated in a village, next to the train station and 5 mins walk from the West Highland Way and from the nearest bus stop. The surroundings are gorgeous and there are walking trails that suit all levels and plenty of hills to climb. There are also two pubs, a shop and a restaurant nearby. The hostel is very clean with comfortable beds and a great lounge, a nice kitchen and clean bathrooms. The staff is very helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoannaV445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Crianlarich Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Hello,

Many thanks for your very kind review, and thank you for your continyed support of SYHA. We will pass your comments onto our team.

Thanks

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Good facilities.no hot meals available or cooked breakfast but a shop nearby. Very clean and to usual good hostel standards. Pleasant staff thank you, if walking the west highland way it is a short detour of the way but not a huge inconvenience.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank 800TonyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Crianlarich Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Hello and many thanks for your feedback. Much appreciated. Sorry that we were unable to offer you a hot evening meal or cooked breakfast. We do offer a limited catering service at site but due to the size of site and the small team we have a minimum number of 10 before we offer this. we do however offer a full continental breakfast each morning with no minimum number.

Thanks again for your feedback and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews