We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage Parking at The Old Smiddy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage
Parking at The Old Smiddy
Cottage sitting room with black watch tartan carpet
Sitting room
Old Smiddy cottage kitchen
Double bedroom
Double bedroom in cottage
Twin bedroom cottage
Cottage double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin ensuite
Our Donald in Ballagan burn
Ballagan burn
Beautiful stag at local roundabout
Beautiful walk up Loch Lomond National Park
Balloch Castle
Balloch castle
Ben Lomond at Loch Lomond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
f m
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The owner of The Old Smiddy was very helpful, even before we arrived.
The cottage is located next door to the owner, on the edge of Balloch, about a 15 minute walk from Loch Lomond. There is parking on the driveway, and Fiona (the owner) requested that we close the gates when coming and going to stop the chickens escaping! There were 3 chickens, a cat and a dog, although we didn't see them much as the weather wasn't kind to us!
On arrival, Fiona and David greeted us and showed us around the cottage, which comprised of a spacious kitchen, a living room, a double ensuite bedroom and a twin ensuite bedroom. It was very well equipped with some nice touches such as boxes of tissues, washing up liquid and clothe, gravy granules and cooking oil. It was centrally heated which was appreciated. In the kitchen was everything you might need for self catering - gas hob and electric grill/oven, fridge, freezer, washing machine/drier, dishwasher and half a dozen cleaning tablets, loads of dishes, pots and pans, etc.
Balloch itself is a good location, right on the edge of Loch Lomond, and within travel distance of several places of interest. The train times to Glasgow are frequent, allowing a good day out. We also visited Stirling, Greenock, Luss and Alexandria. Our experience of the restaurants in Balloch was good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2015
Thankyou for your review of The Old Smiddy Cottage and nice to meet you and your family regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa W
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
“The perfect home from home, loved our time there.”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was the perfect spot, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and public transport. The cottage was warm and welcoming with everything we could possibly want or need. We wouldn't consider any other place to stay now if we come back. We enjoyed very minute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like we had our own place.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Thank you Theresa and Paul for that lovely review so glad everything was to your liking it was lovely to meet you both and would love to see you back anytime. Chocs were delicious x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Rented this cottage while attending a family wedding, really impressed!! Clean,spacious and well equipped. Friendly owners and would thoroughly recommend!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thankyou for great review it was lovely to meet you all and glad you enjoyed cottage and your wedding went so well. Regard Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brock1969
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property and great location.”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The property was really clean and tidy, rooms were all a good size and well equipped. The property was well located for easy access around Loch Lomond and the Trossachs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Many thanks for lovely review so glad you enjoyed the cottage and lovely to meet you kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFromOx...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a wonderful time”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Old Smiddy with my family of 4 for over a week in August 2014. The cottage was very well maintained and had everything one could wish for. Fiona was kind and professional and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely comments I am glad you enjoyed your time at The Old Smiddy it was a pleasure to have you stay. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing