We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
A Beautiful Old Southern Mansion

My wife and I and another couple were in Tennessee for the weekend and decided to stop here on... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2018
maranville826
,
Stanton, Iowa
Civic organization luncheon at Falcon Rest

Dining table set with white linen tablecloth, flowers. Nice selection of cold non-alcoholic... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2018
Sharon Lee B
,
McMinnville, Tennessee
Read all 60 reviews
  
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
33
21
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
21
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweet potato fries gift shop square foot cumberland caverns downtown mcminnville step back in time guided tour murder restoration nursery tennessee clay history parts production ghost admission
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

My wife and I and another couple were in Tennessee for the weekend and decided to stop here on Sunday afternoon around 2 or 3 pm. Great Gift shop with lots of different gift ideas for your loved ones.The tour was wonderful and the Mansion was lovely. Charlien gave us our tour that afternoon. My wife and I have been on several "Old Mansion " tours throughout our travels, but what made this one even more unique special was the fact that the tour was provided by the people who actually restored the property. I could tell from the way Charlien talked she loves what she does. Overall a great experience.

Thank maranville826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

We're delighted you made Falcon Rest part of your Tennessee weekend. Glad I had the honor of leading your tour. Thanks for reviewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Dining table set with white linen tablecloth, flowers. Nice selection of cold non-alcoholic beverages (one is a signature drink, too.). Private dining area small, but adequate for this organization. Food was terrific, portioned well. Others at meeting raved about past luncheons there.

Thank Sharon Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

We love hosting local groups for events, Sharon. Thanks for letting us know your group enjoyed your recent visit. Our main dining room will seat up to 60 for dinner. When the two sets of double French doors are opened to the adjoining room, we can seat 100 for a meal inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

If you are looking for something interesting to do in the area I 100% recommend Falcon Rest. I am a huge tea lover so I booked an afternoon tea and a tour of the mansion. The tea was average but it was fun so it was still enjoyable. The food was ok, my favorite were the sandwiches. I liked the local twist they put on it by having a sandwich with pimento cheese. The gift shop has thousands of interesting items, you could easily spend an hour looking around. No matter how long you take you are bound to find something special. The tour of the mansion was fun and it was neat to hear and see the history there. The mansion and property are beautiful and make for lovely photos. The owners are nice people and you can tell they love what they do.

1  Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

We're so glad you visited and took time to write a review, April. Making history fun is our priority, so the greatest compliment you can give is to say you had fun with your tour and your tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful couple Charlien and George are. You will be amazed at what they have accomplished in working to restore this gem of Tennessee over decades. Charlien is an excellent cook. Be sure to plan on enjoying a meal at Falcon Rest during your visit! The history of this unique property is fascinating. You can not help but marvel at this couple’s love for each other and their work ethics. George gets a gleam in his eye as he discusses his next project and you can tell he is excited about taking it on.

Thank 978michaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

While planning a trip to visit family in McMinnville, TN, I knew exactly where we would stay. This was my third visit to Falcon Rest and I knew that I would not be disappointed. I had one person in our party that had also stayed at Falcon Rest previously and two that had never been there. We took the mansion tour with Charlien as our guide. She also is a fabulous cook. We had breakfast in the tea room with a different menu each day. We also enjoyed her chicken salad sandwich lunch the first afternoon.

Thank crackergirl915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

A step back in time to Tennessee's Biltmore. We made an advanced reservation for the formal tea. It was yummy & fun. Highly recommend. Afterwards, we toured the home with the gracious owner. What an amazing job with the restoration! Historical! I would have never imagined how that area previously looked. This would be a great wedding venue or group outing. They do performances for groups. Check out the old pics & articles

Thank pirate013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your tea and tour experience at Falcon Rest Mansion, and we appreciate you taking the time to recommend it to others. It's always our goal for all the food we serve to be yummy, and every experience people have here to be fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

When my husband and I go places we always like to make our way home by what we call putzing. We always look for interesting things to see or do. We came to Mcminnville for Bluegrass Underground. We stayed at the Best Western in town and found the mansion listed as a local attraction. What a great find! The house and gardens are beautiful and interesting. But I have to say the owners are the real treasure. They are very charming and fun to talk to. Next time we come this way we hope to stay at the B&B.

1  Thank marysewandsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thanks so much for posting and for the sweet compliment, Mary. We're delighted you came for the mansion and gardens tour while you were in McMinnville. We'll look forward to having you stay at Falcon Manor, the B&B rooms on the mansion grounds, next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We spent three nights at the mansion in the carriage house. The room was very spacious and quiet. We thought we were the only ones there until the next day when we found out it was at full capacity. Just be aware that the rooms are not in the mansion but in buildings on the grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch while listening to the night sounds. The owners were very gracious and helpful. The local area has many outdoor activities such as hiking, kayaking, and Cumberland Caverns.

Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

You're not the first to say you were surprised to find that other people were staying on the grounds at Falcon Rest Mansion, Linda. Our Falcon Manor Bed and Breakfast guest rooms are spread far enough apart on the property that they are very peaceful and quiet, but close enough together that it's convenient to rock on the mansion veranda, browse the gift shop, or take a guided tour of the mansion.

Thanks for pointing out that the Falcon Manor B&B rooms aren't inside the mansion. We try to make that clear on our website. To preserve the historical authenticity of the 1896 tour mansion, and the privacy of overnight guests, the guest rooms in separate buildings on the grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Exceptional personal service. Very nice, well appointed, and spacious room. Had choice of two breakfasts, served in our room or in a public dining room. It was a huge breakfast and very good.

Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and breakfast during your stay at Falcon Manor B&B on the grounds of Falcon Rest Mansion. Thanks so much for rating our service "exceptional." We truly appreciate every customer, whether they are overnight guests, individuals touring the mansion, or one among many participants in a motorcoach group shows. We endeavor to provide exceptional service to each and every one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

It was a fun evening. The show was performed by amateurs but he did a very good job. We enjoyed our meal. All in all it was a nice evening for a small town production.

Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

It's great you had fun when you came for "Murder at the Mansion," Lisa. "Where history is fun" is more than a slogan at Falcon Rest!

The real stars are the people in the audience. Everybody gets the part of a real historical character -- but no lines -- so we play off of them and fit the script to their reactions. It's not meant to be a slick theatrical production with stage props and a formal script. The ad-lib, interactive nature of the show is what makes it out-of-the ordinary and so much fun. Actually, we've been doing this same "Murder at the Mansion" show since 2001 -- with delightful variations every performance courtesy of the audience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews