We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falcon Rest Mansion and Gardens”

Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Falcon Rest is the Victorian mansion where history is fun. Built in 1896 by Gorilla Pants manufacturer Clay Faulkner, it's been called "Tennessee's Biltmore" by PBS. Some say it's presided over by a friendly ghost. Open daily year round for guided tours, tea room lunches, Victorian Gift Shop, and history-based entertainment and meals for group tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We were on a bus tour and attended the Mystery Dinner entitled Murder at the Mansion---excellent. You are all given parts to do in Mystery--not all parts have speaking parts. We traveled with people who really got into their parts and as a result we laughed most of the time. At the end of the dinner mystery, we toured the restored mansion. The owners have restored 95% of mansion themselves. I recommend this to everyone!!

Thank Kaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and recommend us, Kaye. We LOVE doing the history-based shows for the tour groups. As you pointed out, while everybody gets a part, they're free to really get into them or just stay quiet and laugh with the ones who do. We know we have done our job when we live up to our slogan -- "the Victorian mansion where history is fun."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sweet potato fries"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"square foot"
in 2 reviews
"bed breakfast"
in 2 reviews
"unique items"
in 2 reviews
"cumberland caverns"
in 3 reviews
"downtown mcminnville"
in 2 reviews
"nice tour"
in 2 reviews
"step back in time"
in 2 reviews
"guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"murder"
in 7 reviews
"restoration"
in 6 reviews
"nursery"
in 2 reviews
"clay"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 19 reviews
"tennessee"
in 5 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

I was passing through town and I saw a sign for this place, so I looked it up on Trip Advisor and decided to take a tour. This is a mansion built for the soon to be bride of Clay Faulkner the founder of Gorilla pants. The mansion has been the work of a lovely couple who have done almost all the restoration themselves which is remarkable particularly comparing the before photos with the mansion as it now stands. Admission is $12.00 + tax and honestly worth every penny. They also offer overnight stays, do weddings, have shows, and have a gift shop with some unique items for sale. If you find yourself in McMinnville, Tennessee stop by and enjoy the tour.

Thank DDay1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

We're so glad you saw the directional sign on Hwy. 70S and made that 1.3 mile detour to visit after looking up the place. TripAdvisor is a great way to check things out. Your additional recommendation is very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice tour we got there around 10:30 - 11:00. Only ones on the tour. See the breakfast she was serving and it looked awesome. I would like to go back to stay the night and do the murder mystery. Very unique items in the gift shop. No pictures inside the house.

Thank carolh969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

My wife found this place while browsing the Internet. We made our way there on a late fall afternoon for a tour. (Note: The $12 per person admission seemed a bit steep at first. However, after experiencing Falcon Rest along with the tour guide/owner sharing the story of its life & restoration, the paying of this admission was more akin to sharing in its continuing life.)
This was a very interesting place to visit; showing its age, not pristine, but with a aged tranquility. The "senior" couple (she was our guide) who had spent 30 years of their life together in preserving this Victorian treasure are to be commended for adding to the history of this treasure.

1  Thank BusterYukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

You zeroed in on an important key to Falcon Rest's success, Buster. You were indeed sharing in its continuing life. It is the money customers like you spend here that makes it possible to maintain, continue restoring, and keep the mansion open to the public. Now, could I get you to change that to "very young for their age senior" couple :)?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The tour is comprehensive. Plenty of Mansion history and local history and especially about the original family and its descendants. Well worth the time and money.

Thank KnoxvLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlien M, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

We're delighted to hear you found your visit to Falcon Rest so worthwhile. It's the people connected to a building and the experiences they had there that make its history come to life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing