We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place with accomodation to match”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilybank

View of Kilchattan Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Kilchattan Bay
Old Pier Village from Pier
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View of Kilchattan Bay
Old Pier
Village from Pier
Hall
Shower Room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge with Open Fire
Dining Kitchen
Dining Kitchen
'Lilybank' from Shore
Rear Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilchattan Bay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colmack91
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place with accomodation to match”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I took my daughter and grand daughter for a quiet week on the Isla of Bute. I saw the flat on the Trip advisor websie and thought it looked nice.
When we arrived we were very pleased that the flat more than matched the decription and photos placed on the web advert.

I took the executive decision to give the front room to my daughter and miss perpetual motion, as it had a most beautiful view. My daughter said that waking up to that view every morning was worth the price of the flat alone.

The flat had all the things you would have at home, so it was just like a home from home. It even had all the kit you would need to go to the beach and a cupboard full of board games.

All in all, we liked Lilybank very much and would return at the drop of a hat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Bute. Thank you for your kind comments about the flat and I look forward to welcoming you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sniffingm...
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great flat, Great Island and Great Views”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What more could you want. The view from the front windows across the bay and across to the mainland is superb. You can just sit with the window open and listen to the sea and the bird life. Great walks from the front door plus a good pub serving superb meals just a short drive away.

The flat and the kitchen are well equipped with a working dishwasher, microwave, Washing Machine, bedding and everything you could need is supplied. Great shower. The only thing to watch if you are mobility impaired is that it is a 3rd floor flat and you have to climb a spiral staircase to get to the flat.

We enjoyed the traffic free roads and the slow relaxing pace of having a holiday in the Island of Bute. The small village even has a good bus service to Rothesay if you do not want to drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: The Spiral Staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about your holiday experience on Bute and in particular, your complements about Lilybank.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trev232
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice flat in a great location”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Would recommend the Isle of Bute, just the right size to be interesting and explore on a bike particularly for a non cyclist like myself. Kilchattan Bay has a nice remote feel to it with friendly coffee shop/post office and great pub within walking distance. Flat is welcoming with splendid view to wake up to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to review your holiday experience on Bute. I'm so glad you had an enjoyable time exploring the island and that you enjoyed the views from the flat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnigeeG...
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant again!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Third time staying here! It is so comfortable and feels like home except the views are amazing! The kitchen is especially well equipped with working dishwasher, microwave etc tho the amount of cooking we did was minimal as there are plenty of good eateries on Bute including a small cafe and shop!
We walked out to the lighthouse - good boots needed for that - down to Dunagoil and Scalpsie Bay and of course waded across the bay in our wellies.
The local community ran a Barbeque which served delicious burgers soup n salad!
We could get a good mobile signal on O2 and could also access data on 3G THere are several WIFI hotspots in Rothsay town as well.
We are looking forward to returning for a FOURTH time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you once again for taking the trouble to review your holiday at Kilchattan Bay and also for your kind comments about the flat. I am glad you enjoyed our community BBQ.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin105
Morecambe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable well equipped flat”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Much more than the usual holiday flat.Fantastic views,great location. We had a really relaxed week. Only possible downside is not really suitable for people with mobility issues due to the stairs to get up to the flat

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing