We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wouldn't tell my worst enemy about this one...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Montford cottage

From north side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From north side
South side Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
From north side
South side
Double bedroom
garden gate
sea view
old walled garden
view from bedroom
boat
Bute ferry
Highland cow
Ferry at night
Dunagoil point
Ascog bay
Saltire
Montford cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ascog, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wouldn't tell my worst enemy about this one - but I shall be telling my friends!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very tastefully and comfortably set up to make guests feel 'at home at sea'. The view while washing up (as well as from the lounge) was fantastic with constant interest generated by all the wildlife - ducklings, cygnets, gannets, mouse and otter, to mention just a few. An easy place to go out from to explore the rest of the island, a haven for those wanting to see and enjoy countryside, wildlife and walks, as well as to enjoy with children,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the sea we felt like we were on board.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A picturesque, seaside cottage away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Montford Cottage for one week over the 2012 Christmas period and what an amazing time we had. We were told about Montford by a family member who had stayed over the summer with her family; she told us to go and see for ourselves what an idyllic getaway this lovely cottage offered.
The cottage itself is beautiful inside and out; it was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was very well-equipped meaning we spent several evenings eating-in; the lounge boasts amazing sea views which can be viewed from the dining table! When we didn't eat in, we chose to visit several of Bute's pubs, restaurants and tea rooms, as recommended to us from the cottage's guest book; all of these were places were would choose to visit again, in particular, The Kingarth Hotel and No. 29 restaurant.
The cottage has two good-sized bedrooms and, although it is located by the coast road, the volume of traffic is so low and the cottage so well insulated, we were never disturbed by noise.
The Isle of Bute is somewhere we had never even heard of before booking Montford, but when it was described to us as a peaceful, picturesque island with an abundance of beaches and countryside walks, we felt it ticked every box and, needless to say, we weren't disappointed. On several occasions, when we visited the Isle's beaches, we were the only people there and were able to take in the breathtaking coastal views and beautiful countryside completely undisturbed, including spending several hours watching the infamous Bute seals who at times chose to bask and swim on the shore, literally a few metres away from where we sat! We have already booked to return this year and would recommend it to anyone, couples or families, looking for a picturesque seaside cottage location away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A picturesque seaside cottage location, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life...”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Montford Cottage for one week over the 2012 Christmas period and what an amazing time we had. We were told about Montford by a family member who had stayed over the summer with her family; she told us to go and see for ourselves what an idyllic getaway this lovely cottage offered.
The cottage itself is beautiful inside and out; it was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was very well-equipped meaning we spent several evenings eating-in; the lounge boasts amazing sea views which can be viewed from the dining table! When we didn't eat in, we chose to visit several of Bute's pubs, restaurants and tea rooms, as recommended to us from the cottage's guest book; all of these were places were would choose to visit again, in particular, The Kingarth Hotel and No. 29 restaurant.
The cottage has two good-sized bedrooms and, although it is located by the coast road, the volume of traffic is so low and the cottage so well insulated, we were never disturbed by noise.
The Isle of Bute is somewhere we had never even heard of before booking Montford, but when it was described to us as a peaceful, picturesque island with an abundance of beaches and countryside walks, we felt it ticked every box and, needless to say, we weren't disappointed. On several occasions, when we visited the Isle's beaches, we were the only people there and were able to take in the breathtaking coastal views and beautiful countryside completely undisturbed, including spending several hours watching the infamous Bute seals who at times chose to bask and swim on the shore, literally a few metres away from where we sat! We have already booked to return this year and would recommend it to anyone, couples or families, looking for a picturesque seaside cottage location away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolanne...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful - peace beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fantastic cottage! Amazing location, beautiful little house. Lovely views. Decorated and furnished just how we pictured a seaside cottage. Loved it so much booking now for next year. Loved it. You might find nicer, but I have no idea where. So quiet and peaceful, just what we all needed. If you want a hectic holiday this is not the place to go but if peace, peace and more peace is the order of the day this is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing location and the interior
Liked least: I can't think of anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
271Claire...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, ideal location.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Montford cottage is is an ideal location with fantastic views of the water from all windows. Bute is a great little island, loads to see and do, excellent public transport and all necessary amenities in Rothesay, which is a about a 30 minute walk away. We had unbelievable weather so spent most days on various beaches, each very different in character, or in the garden seal and otter spotting. We didn't do everything we wanted to do, so have already booked to return next year. The cottage is very cosy, beautifully furnished with everything you need. I could sit in the window looking out to sea for hours. This is probably the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in - highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing