We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillview Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Living room wood burning stove and leather sofa
Living room and dining table
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom view from Kitchen
Conservatory
Bridge over the Allt Dubh stream in front of cottage
Cottage in winter snow
Cottage from West side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaxdaniS
1 review
“Christmas getaway”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were stunned by the beautiful scenery on driving from the ferry terminal.
The views are alpine like.....words cannot describe how breathtaking the vista is.
On the drive to Tighnabruaich we were stunned by the unspolit beauty and sheer magnitude of the mountains.
Hill Cottage is a true gem.....set in the most remarkable spot on the mountain.....we were not expecting just how wonderfully peaceful and idyllic it is.
Peter is very genial and helpful and his concern for our safe arrival and comfort was touching.
On arrival the stove was lit, wood for this and the bedroom fire was in abundance.
The cottage was very clean, cosy and all equipped for a comfortable and romantic break.
Lovely of an evening to eat by candlelight with a nice glass of wine that was waiting for us on arrival.
Equally lovely was eating breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the loch.
We have fallen in love with Hill Cottage, Tighnabruaich and the surrounding area.
The waterfalls surrounding the place are magical.....we really didn't want to leave.
We loved it so much that we have booked for 2 weeks for our holiday this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
It was such a privilege to host Roxanne, Mike, Dara and Rosie, they were superb communicators, considerate and conscientious. So glad to hear they enjoyed the romantic scenic setting and great to hear they will be returning, we very much welcome the opportunity to play host to them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemsgrace...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a wonderful, truly remote cottage which gives a genuine rustic experience. It's so peaceful and a real 'get away from it all' place. The landscape and views are spectacular and if it is too chilly to sit outside, there is a fabulous little conservatory to view the scenery. The land the cottage is set within is great to explore and it's just awesome to have a mountain stream with waterfalls in such close proximity.

You can take walks straight from the cottage door or explore further afield by car. The weather changed frequently while I was there which is all part of the adventure but I was glad I had taken warm and waterproof clothes for all conditions!

The wood burning stove provides heat and hot water and the fire in the main bedroom also provides additional heat if needed. The candle lanterns are a great experience instead of electric lights!

The owner has put a lot of thought and care into the cottage and has provided all the equipment and instructions you need for staying in such a unique place as well as suggestions of what to do and see in the area. He clearly loves the cottage and wants his guests to have the best experience.

If you want a remote and rustic experience, I would highly recommend this fabulous cottage !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness and the scenery.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Rested, relaxed and re-charged”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A truly get-away-from-it-all break! Staying here gives a chance to get a little bit of perspective - you can feel the stress of daily life slip off your shoulders the moment you arrive. A charming cottage with stunning scenery, and the new sun room is a fantastic addition. The owner is thoughtful, and how you enjoy your stay seems genuinely important to him, he clearly has a love for this place. We were glad of our thermals, though once the woodburner's going and the candles are lit it's the cosiest wee place to enjoy good company. Feels adventurous to stay somewhere with no electricity, TV, etc, but creates conversation and making your own entertainment - something that seems to be more of a challenge in this age. This was my third stay and it won't be my last.
Do take warm clothes and waterproofs, especially in the cooler months, and be prepared for the weather to change in the blink of an eye! We had glorious warm sunshine to hailstones, and everything in between, over the course of our four night stay!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No electricity or central heating
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for such a glowing review! So glad you enjoyed yourselves despite the changeable weather. Love how you have summed up the very essence of getting back to basics and escaping into the wilderness, enjoying the pure simple joys of life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod2123
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic! ”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a wonderful cottage, we had a truly great weekend in ldyllic surroundings. No phone and email for a whole three days was marvellous! Weather was not great, but it didn't matter, the cottage was cosy and warm, plenty hot water for candlelit baths after wet walks! Definitely return!Best regards, Roddy and Georgia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing