We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pier Cottage Kames

Beachfront location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beachfront location
Beachfront Studio living & bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Beachfront location
Beachfront
Studio living & bedroom
Studio living & bedroom
Studio living & bedroom
Studio living & bedroom views
Studio kitchen
Bathroom
Beach front with spectacular views
Waterfront location
Pier Cottage exterior
Beach front
Pier Cottage exterior
Ariel image of Kames
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
victoriaw...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little getaway”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This little cottage has amazing views and is lovely and cosy. We stayed for 4 night but could have stayed for longer, everything was just perfect, me and my partner had such a lovely holiday.
We took our slow cooker for making tea time meals and was definitely a good idea as there's no oven and next we stay we would also buy an OS map for walks :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollehol
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Away from it all"”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have been visiting Kames since we were children and my sister and I love it! Just returned from our second stay in Pier Cottage and we had such a lovely time. Cottage is very clean and tidy with new heating system which kept us cosy on a couple of cool evenings. It was perfect to step outside, right onto the beach. The views are fantastic, ever changing with the weather and time of day. Lovely to sit outside with a cup of tea! Cottage has everything you would need for a short stay and directly in front of Kames Hotel which is excellent for well priced food and drink. Will definitely be coming back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen W
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Very nice but small cottage. The views are amazing getting up in the morning and walking out the door to the view and water at your feet is brilliant. We felt that you would need to have the weather on your side as it was pretty cold when we were there therefore we could not sit out for long

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The access and view
Liked least: There was not enough heating inside the cottage we thought it was cold exspecially at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Pier Cottage. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie and Iain... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseyF
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tidy, cosy, affordable and delightful little cottage!”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A tiny little cottage on the shore (you couldn't be any closer to the water, really) is just what we were wanting for a long weekend exploring the Cowal peninsula. Pier Cottage was great and it had basically everything we needed for an impromptu, low-key get away. It was a little chilly, even with 2 small electric heaters, but it was nothing a few blankets from the car couldn't solve. If you're visiting in the winter months, I'd bring an extra cover just in case.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and the cosy charm
Liked least: It was perhaps a little cold inside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Pier Cottage. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie and Iain... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teach68
UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend, stunning views, amazing visit to Ostel Bay (5min) drive away, delicious dinner at The Kames Hotel! Only thing missing was a log burner but overall, was a fabulous stay!
Will definitely return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Pier Cottage and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing