We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location and stunning scenery!”

Review of The Edwardian Wing

The Edwardian Wing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Edwardian Wing
Bonawe House Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The Edwardian Wing
Bonawe House
Living room
Main bed room
Kitchen
twin bed room
bath room
Living room
Kitchen
Main bed room
view to front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
miketwiss...
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location and stunning scenery!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in October 2016

I am an annual visitor to the Edwardian Wing of Bonawe House. Overlooking Loch Etive and nestled in between mountains and woodland, Bonawe House is a beautiful place to stay.
In particular, the Edwardian Wing has an elegance and charm all of its own- it is in its own league.
It is spacious and relaxing.
The owners are friendly and welcoming who live on site and ready to support at any given moment - day or night! They take great care in providing the best possible experience whilst you are there, but one thing I found most impressive was that the whole place is just extremely clean - spotless!
There is also a piano for the musically discerning!
There are so many things to do including lots of walks around Loch Etive.
It is 11 miles from Oban (gateway to the Islands of Mull and Iona) and its natural harbour.
If you're interested in walking - It is a one hour drive to get to Glencoe and the major mountains.
If ever you're in Scotland, a stay in the Edwardian Wing of Bonawe House is a must!
You will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
HI Mike

Many thanks for such a kind review.

Damon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intrepid1...
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I wish I could LIVE in the Edwardian Wing”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The peace of this place amazes me. If ever Damon and Renate want to SELL the Edwardian wing I'd move from Oxford lickety-split. In Taynuilt I can WRITE - I look out the window, see the garden, the pasture, the loch. And I love the people; Taynuilt has the Best Scones in the World, and the nicest grocer, too. The butcher is a miracle. I think my husband and I have visited nine times now. I probably shouldn't be writing this review; we need to be able to BOOK our sanctuary. Peace and beauty are Necessary Luxuries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Hi Suzanne, Thank you for such a lovely review. Look forward to seeing you in a few weeks.
Damon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a beauty,”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in September 2016

What a beauty, the house is lovely, the views were to die for but the plumbing was definitely Edwardian. Not that that stopped us booking again for this year. {CANT WAIT}

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Hi Denise, Thanks for the kind review, I hope there is nothing edwardian about the plumbing this year as we have done some work over the winter (thought bath is still there, it's listed!) . Look forward to seeing you this year
Damon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry77gr...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, roomy, incredible views.”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Bonawe House is set in the most beautiful gardens with stunning views over Loch Etive and the surrounding mountains.
The Edwardian Suite is charming. Very comfortable to live in with a wonderfully large lounge diner complete with wooden panelling. There was plenty of room for our party of four. We tended to cook our own meals and eat them at the oval dining table. Excellent ambience and so relaxing.
You must visit Robin's Nest tea rooms in Taynuilt and try the scones. Whilst Cruachan power station is a good stand by in the event of inclement weather. Oban is close and the island of Mull a potential day trip for the adventurous.
Fort William and Ben Nevis with a lovely walk to a waterfall from Glen Nevis are within an hours driving. The scenery is stunning. Enjoy.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Hi Barry,
Thank you for your nice review, delighted you enjoyed yourself. I hope the chips were good on Mull
Damon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotmjb
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In need of major redecoration and updating”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Edwardian Wing probably hasn't been updated ( apart from central heating installation) for more than 25 years. The master bedroom has a very nasty smell of 'oldness' and prior dampness. Beware if you are asthmatic and keep the windows open for as long as you can.
Otherwise this is a lovely area to stay in and the owners are very obliging.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: L:ocation
Liked least: Condition of the internal accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing