We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
281
101
29
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
101
29
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner trout great food many thanks comfortable rooms lovely setting new zealand steak pie an evening meal public areas long drive family wedding friendly hotel the staff were friendly and helpful couldn't do enough well stocked bar stunning scenery
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We come back to Brander Lodge every year to eat. This year we were able to stay in one of the rooms with our 8 month old daughter.
The room we stayed in is absolutely amazing. Bed was super comfortable. A proper shower, which is quite rare in the UK.
The owner even had a bed for the baby put in the room.
The food was amazing. The chef deserves two thumbs up for what he put on our plates.
The owner, David, is a wonderful guy. And one of the main reasons we keep coming back to Brander Lodge and even Scotland.
Stop by Brander Lodge when you get the chance.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MrCasaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidkeat2015, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you, what a lovely review and so pleased we had you to stay, and dine this visit.
It is couples like yourselves that make owning and operating a hotel a pleasure occupation.
We are proud of our young chefs and the job they do and it is lovely when their efforts are recognised. I shall make sure they get to read your review.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was a delight as usual to have you here and of course to meet the new family member.

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

I struggled to find somewhere I liked the look of in the area, really glad we booked here
Dave, the owner was great and you are spoilt with 150 whiskys to try! The place has been renovated to a good standard and the food was nice. I left my watch didn't realise, I was contacted and it was posted back the next day. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jaimeshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of our renovations and our Whisky and Gin selections and delighted to hear you enjoyed it.
I well remember you Jamie and it was nice to have met you and been able to pass a moment or two with you over the delights of Whisky.
Pleased that your watch arrived safe and sound also.

We hope you will stay again if back in this wonderfully scenic area of Argyll Scotland.

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

What an excellent place. Beautiful venue to eat and amazing food. Our 6 year old son kept saying it was the best meal ever and he wanted to meet the chef to say thank you! (We didn’t get the chef out) The staff were friendly and excellent. Our whole experience was a brilliant one. Thank you

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fliss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us, so glad you all enjoyed the food and the experience.
What a shame, I didn't know your son wanted to meet and thank the Chef, I would have gladly escorted him into the kitchen so he could meet the chef,see where the food is prepared and cooked, often these experiences stay cemented in young heads and encourage adult adventure into this vibrant of Industries.
I shall pass your review onto the staff whom are always delighted to have their efforts acknowledged.
If we are ever fortunate to have you back in, please do not hesitate to speak with me and I will gladly give the lad and or yourself a guided tour to meet the chef.
Wishing you all the very best.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We are 4 friends on a cycle trip around West of Scotland and after a long day in miserable weather, good food was a priority. We had been advised that for a donation to mountain rescue, the owner would pick us up and bring us back to where we were staying which is approximately 3 miles from restaurant. Well he did! Great food, great service and very accommodating to us which meant we did not have to get back on the bikes. One of our group is vegan and she was well pleased with the food. Good selection of gin also. Would highly recommend, many thanks from the bike ladies

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks Ladies for risking life and limb to get in my vehicle and come dine with us at the Brander Lodge Hotel.

So glad we could offer the warmth and sustenance you required and that you all enjoyed the meal and the visit.
Glad also that the Gin selection drew you in and that we managed to pull of a tasty Vegan dish or two.

Hope you have enjoyed getting back on your bikes on this beautiful dry sunny day we also provided for your onward ride.

We look forward to you perhaps coming back and seeing a little more of the immediate surroundings on another visit.

You taking the trouble and time to review your experience is very much appreciated as was your generous donation for the Oban Mountain Rescue team. Thanks for supporting.

Travel safe

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Great location in the lower west of Scotland and perfect for some climbing , walking and sight seeing.
The hotel may only be a 3 star but the personal service we received from Stuart and the owner David was fantastic. The staff are a credit to the hotel.
The food was very good. Yes there can be a wait but the restaurant is large and can get busy.
The rooms although not huge are spacious and downstairs many have patio doors where you can sit outside and view the mountains either side of you.
The hotel is somewhere I would certainly visit again if in the area.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for your selection in us as your accommodation provider while in this lovely area of Argyll and also for taking the time to review your stay, it is much appreciated.

I have passed your comments onto Stuart, who, like me appreciates your feed back and support.

We both hope that you will make it back in the future, we are sure there are still mountains to climb in the vicinity.

We wish you well.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews