We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect highland getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenhurich Lodge

Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
The garden at Glenhurich Lodge Glenhurich Lodge towards Loch Sheil
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
The garden at Glenhurich Lodge
Glenhurich Lodge towards Loch Sheil
Glenhurich Lodge sitting room fire
Glenhurich Lodge sitting room
Glenhurich Lodge dining
Glenhurich Lodge kitchen
Landing
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Road into Glenhurich
Glenhurich Lodge and Loch Sheil from Resipole summit
Viewpoint over Loch Shiel
Loch Sheil
Paddle boarding on Loch Doilet
Forestry Road from Lodge to Glenfinnin
Lochan Dhu - The Black Lochan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janeff201...
Staindrop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect highland getaway!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 11, ranging in age from 18 - 53 enjoyed a fabulous week at Glenhurich Lodge. The house is clean, spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Our budget was pretty tight but we managed to find plenty to do without having to use the cars; just as well because one broke down half way through the week! Loch Shiel Garage were excellent and had it back to us very quickly. The walks from the doorstep were wonderful - quite challenging for our younger, inexperienced walkers but we made it to the top of Ben Resipole without too many grumbles! Seeing Golden eagles soaring above us made it very special. We got lost on one occasion, trying to find a beach but found ourselves, once again half way up Ben Resipole, this time on the other side which was breathtakingly beautiful! We bbq'd by the Loch, drank lots of beer, played table tennis and did quizzes in the evening with the stove lit. The isolation was perfect for us - even the teenage 'townies' enjoyed their highland retreat and willingly joined the walking expedition over the hills to Strontian and back to do the shopping! A perfect week...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and remoteness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in a stunning setting.”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Glenhurich Lodge is a beautifully designed house, set amidst the most stunning scenery. We were there with young children and they were thoroughly enamoured with the place. As were we adults - the perfect place to escape and hunker down. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and design of the house.
Liked least: I loved everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j4c4h4d4
Chipping Norton
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding and as good as it gets!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have been planning to celebrate my wife's upcoming 60th birthday with our extended family and mostly through the auspices of TripAdvisor stumbled upon Glenhurich Lodge. It proved to be an outstanding choice in so many ways. The communications for booking were simple and unobtrusive and Gordon was a pleasure to deal with. On the day of arrival [having broken the journey from Oxfordshire in a B&B] we arrived late afternoon having already been impressed by the last 8 miles of road up and down to the cottages which were almost James Bond-esque in their meanderings and the stunning views provided. 11 of us tumbled into a welcoming, clean, warm and well-resourced accommodation - so good that there were no disagreements with the distribution of bedrooms! The dog was given a bed under the stairs and spent the whole week in an excited and dazed state, sampling beautiful lochs, stunning walks and flowing rivers [all within touching distance of the lodge] and trying to work out if the highland cattle were friend or foe from a significantly cautious distance!
The kitchen became the hub of entertainment for the week and the sitting room an area of calm reflection. We walked, climber, cycled, went down to the local stores in Strontian and fed really well at the Kilcamb Brasserie on the last night. Glenhurich Lodge is a special place and has given us so many happy memories. SIncere thanks to all involved in producing such a special week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the Lodge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb house in a fantastic, tranquil location”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a truly fantastic week, the house is soooo beautiful, well equipped (we wanted for nothing), warm, spacious, great shower - and we loved the decor (have stolen a few design ideas!!).

We holiday on the west coast once/twice a year - this is the very first time we have not had a drop of rain - warm, sunny weather (and very few midges!).

We did lots of activities - walking, biking, the kids swam from the pontoon!, picnicked, nightime camp fires at the river, eating marshmallows and smoores - the kids swam in the river!, built a den in the woods, went on the jacobite steam train, had fish and chips in Mallaig, Visited Ardnamurchan lighthouse, went to Sanna Beach (the kids swam in the sea!), had mini olympics on the grass, tug-of-war competitions, tabletennis tournaments, hide and seek, a treasure hunt, a quiz night, had dinner at the Ariundle Centre (great food!), had a midnight onesie and wellie walk and a spa night (that the children organised!) - oh - and the 'phonebox challenge' (got all 6 children in!!!) - and I'm sure lots, lots more!!

We have already recommended Glenhurich Lodge to lots of friends and we would love to come back one day. It is a holiday we will all remember for a very long time indeed - probably forever!!

Thanks also to Cliff and his wife who were very welcoming and helpful.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family party of 8 adults and 3 children. We all had a great week - the lodge is fantastic and had everything we could wish for. Knowing it was so isolated, we bought well at Fort William Morrisons and lived off Nigella recipes for the week!

5 of the group bagged their first Munro by climbing The Ben which was very hard but rewarding. We hired paddle boards from PaddleSurfScotland and paddled off the pontoon at Loch Shiel - very cold but so exhilarating to be out in the middle with no sign of anyone else on the water. PaddleSurfScotland's Fort William office was closed due to moving house but they agreed to travel over from Perth and meet us at Fort William which was good - it made the trips across the Corran Ferry mount up though (they certainly have a captive audience!).

Also took the ride out to Sanna Bay which is worth the visit - even braved the waters in wetsuits! Look out for Nurdurra cafe, exhibition, shop and playground on the road to Sanna.

Overall, thoroughly recommend the lodge as an excellent base for experiencing the unexpected pleasures of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing