We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An awesome place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bluebell Croft

Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Elevated hillside position, with stunning scenic views and superbly situated luxury hot-tub Stunning mountain views in a rural retreat, beautiful and cosy in Winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Elevated hillside position, with stunning scenic views and superbly situated luxury hot-tub
Stunning mountain views in a rural retreat, beautiful and cosy in Winter
Autumn view of the mountains behind the property
Superb views from the patio and hot-tub whatever the weather.
Giant hot-tub with magnificent views over the glen to mountains. In use year round
Well equipped kitchen, designed so the cook can socialise too! Aga and conventional cooker
View from Honeysuckle House lounge
Plenty of comfy, spacious seating, beside the wood-burning stove
The huge oak dining table seats 10-12 easily and can accommodate 16
The large dining table can seat up to 16 people. We are able to host small weddings up to 40 guests
View across the lounge to the sunroom
The sunroom has access to the hot-tub. The perfect place to relax with activities for all the family
The childrens room has bunk beds and may be a twin or double room
The bedrooms are spacious and some may be either twin or zip and lock super king-size
Rose Cottage exterior
The downstairs, wheelchair accessible bedroom leads onto a patio overlooking the mountains
The lounge and dining area viewed from the stairs
Cosy living room with patio doors to the hot-tub
Looking down from the upstairs bedroom
Living room with lots of comfy seating
Compact and well equipped kitchen
Open plan kitchen, dining area and lounge
Everything you need in the compact kitchen- Neff induction hob, cooker, dishwasher and microwave
Light and airy downstairs bedroom leading to private patio
En-suite wheelchair accessible wetroom
Grab rails, loo raiser and shower chair available
The ever changing mountain scenery. Here is a view in November
The private garden and patio outside Rose Cottage. BBQ available and shed for bikes.
We keep Castlemilk Moorit rare breed sheep
Our friendly ewes may feed from your hand.
We have chickens, ducks and geese. Here are some of our Bresse Galloise cockerels.
The Ariundle oak woods are a short walk from the door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamela B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I recently spent 3 nights in Rose Cottage with 2 of my pals on a girlie retreat. On arrival we found the cottage to be spotlessly clean and very welcoming with warm scones and home made jam awaiting our arrival! The hot tub must have the best views of any hot tub on the planet and we certainly put it to good use at the end of each day. There are stunning walks from the doorstep of the Croft and believe me there was nothing better than coming home and getting in that hot tub! Listening to the birds and watching the sun go down, pure heaven. I can honestly say the bed is one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in. I normally struggle to get a good nights sleep when away from home, but not at Rose Cottage, I slept very soundly indeed. Chris and Chris went out of their way to ensure we had the bestest of time. I only wish we could have stayed a bit longer, hopefully we will on the next visit. I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect, it is impossible to single out one thing
Liked least: I can honestly say there was nothing that we didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Rose Cottage.
We're so glad to hear that you found the property comfortable, clean and had a relaxing time with your friends.
Your review of the beds is particularly welcome as we think a good nights sleep is so important!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mick o
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The ideal place to escape the humdrum of city life.”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I was very impressed by bluebell cottages,the houses were spotless and both kitchens were equipped with all mod cons including tumble drier,dishwasher etc. There is bookcases stocked with novels,wildlife,garden and kids literature,etc something for everyone. There are also kids toys ,games,jigsaws for the younger ones. The hot tub and barbecue at the rear are ideal for relaxing in the evening. The place is owned by a lovely Yorkshire lass and her delightful husband who work nonstop to ensure everyone enjoys themselves. The views are amazing,we saw a white tailed sea eagle and the rare pine marten can be seen by putting out some jam or peanut butter. All in all thanks for a fantastic break. I,ll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the welcome from the hosts,esp the free scones and the jam,also the amazing hottub to relax in.
Liked least: Honestly,I enjoyed everything esp distillery in tobermorey
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Bluebell Croft. We really appreciate feedback and are very pleased that you had plenty to do during your stay and enjoyed the peace, relaxation and wildlife that the area is full of.
Thank you also for your help and advice on gardening! I do hope that your cuttings/ seedlings do well in your own garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne310...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation and very friendly owners.”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I along with 6 other friends enjoyed an excellent long weekend here. The house is wonderful and the log burning stoves keep the property lovely and warm. The walks in the area are brilliant. Will be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once again, a brilliant holiday at Bluebell Croft!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We returned after a week end stay in February 2014 which we liked so much some of us had to stay for the week in October 2015! Really excellent accommodation for all the family from 85 year old, teenagers and last but not least a six year old (who's birthday fell while we were there). The houses had every thing you could need and the owners are so friendly and helpful when needed even going the extra mile by returning my grandaughter's purse by post which delighted a 6 year old no end. Stunning views and some lovely walks. We hope to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and hot tub!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
It was lovely to see you all again and we're pleased that everyone had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissLorna...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accommodation in a beautiful setting!!”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelled as a group of 12 friends (aged between 22-24) for a relaxing weekend away. The house completely exceeded our expectations, it has been done up to such a high standard - exceptionally clean and includes lots of luxurious touches which we loved - the home made scones and jam were just so tasty!!! .
The house provided plenty of space for a large group, every room was equally as good - which saved any arguments over who got the best room! All spacious, clean and modern with very comfortable beds.
The living area was a great entertaining space with everyone sitting around the log fire - plenty of fire wood was available which was an added bonus!
Kitchen was so well equipped with everything you would possibly require.
And the best bit... The hot-tub!! What an amazing view.
There are plenty of hills to climb nearby which entertained my boyfriend and I, while the rest of the group found some leisurely walks. The scenery is beautiful!
The house also has a great choice of games for entertainment.
Overall, both houses are just fantastic and provide the ideal space for a large group.
The owners are so helpful and friendly - they have great communication with their guests.
I hope to return to this property in the future and have already been recommending to my family!
THANK YOU BLUEBELL CROFT! From Lorna and friends :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Bluebell Croft, we really do appreciate it!
We're delighted that the properties exceeded your expectations and that you all had a great weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing