We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent selection and service

The shop has a superb selection of goods especially for gifts, to suit all tastes and serves the... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2018
DavidMay1945
,
Montrose, United Kingdom
Lovely wee shop with everything you could want.

Friendly and helpful staff, good selection. Very happy I visited and bought lovely necklaces for my... read more

Reviewed 18 June 2018
Peter E
via mobile
Read all 17 reviews
  
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
12
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll range loch shop gifts views
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

The shop has a superb selection of goods especially for gifts, to suit all tastes and serves the tourists as well as the locals well.

Thank DavidMay1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff, good selection. Very happy I visited and bought lovely necklaces for my daughters.

Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I regularly get a great coffee on my way to meetings and or call for my roll and coffee at lunch. The coffee is great and the food is freshly prepared, reasonable prices, great variety. Tray backs are good as well.
The staff are friendly and efficient, my favourite place in Lochgilphead.

Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Wandering in here I had hoped to find quirky Scottish gifts ... instead I found an incredible range of "Charlie bears". . Whilst I appreciate Charlie bears - they are English!! Where were the sexy wee Scottish teddies in their Scottish finery???!!

The store is distinctly generic... I am sure it serves the locals needs but as a tourist I found it underwhelming. It is however conveniently located across from the loch in town... so the views as you leave are magnificent .

Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This is a real aladdins cave of beautiful gifts, ornaments, cards, children's toys and more besides. There is a good variety of things to choose from and not too much of any one thing. We bought a lovely willow tree ornament, a fun hedgehog patterned toilet bag and good quality bamboo socks in lovely pastel colours. Friendly sales assistant too who has just returned - she offered to wrap things in tissue and such lovely service makes all the difference.

Thank KathyS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

This is shop heaven - choc full of high class toiletries, candles, crafts, accessories and gifts
All purchases can be beautifully wrapped and you get a voucher for a coffee at the cafe next door
Plus there is a separate section with children's gifts and stationery type items
For the quality on offer the prices are not bad and you can easily pass an hour or more here without blinking
The staff is helpful and friendly and don't bother you until you're ready to pay or ask a question
If you like shops then don't miss it - it's the best craft/gift shop in the area from Inverarary to Oban

1  Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Great quality gifts in such variety.Visitors to the area will find that special gift to remind them of their trip to Lochgilphead.

Thank gaz4caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I have been shopping in the Square Peg for more years than I care to remember at least 30 I think! There is a gift shop, toy shop and takeaway cafe. I really enjoy shopping in the gift shop where I can always find something "different". The staff are local and lovely. Everything is just so if you know what I mean. Would highly recommend and they have an on line site as well called Who's it for? which I believe is very popular with customers who have visited the shops while on holiday in the area and want to buy more things when they returned home. Great asset to the town.

3  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

You can not visit Lochgilphead or pass on your way to Campbelltown without paying a visit to The Square Peg. It has a fine selection of homeward, gifts and cards for every occasion. You can even take away a hot drink and snacks. The staff could not be more helpful if they tried.

1  Thank Chris6115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is not your average tourist tat shop, normally such a blight on Scottish towns and villages - there is a good selection of attractive goods on sale, staffed with friendly attentive staff. Easy parking normally available outside the shop, and lovely views down the Loch to Arran (on a clear day). Prices reasonable rather than cheap, but ideal for purchasing gifts for others, or something nice for yourself.

1  Thank Silverweddingcpouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews