We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Island View Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Island View

The beach in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow The double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow
The double room
The twin room
The living room
The kitchen
The view from the porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
eandzee
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Island View Cottage”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a lovely week we enjoyed at this lovely cosy little cottage. Total peace and quiet in a property right next to the beach with amazing views and wildlife. The cottage is amazingly well equipped including a great collection of dvds and books for when it's wet. It's spotlessly clean with everything one could possibly need. There's a local shop and distilery, Pub and bistro all within walking distance, serving lovely food. It's dog friendly and brillant for dog walking by the beach. All the Islanders we met were friendly and helpful. The walking, scenery and wildlife are just spectacular, making Jura well worth a visit. Thank you Annie for all your help and information. We loved Island View!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thanks for your lovely review! I'm so glad that all was well for you. I look forward to welcoming you back in 2019 which sounds like a long time away but will probably fly by! All the very best. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place and good accomodation, well appointed, warm and freindly efficient admin”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This cottage is on the quiet road that leads from the village and cross the road and you are on the beach. This is the most wonderful view and place. The village has a pub, a shop, a café and a distillery. Everyone is friendly - we loved the place. The island is strange and wonderful - we were very lucky with the weather. The cottage is warm and well set up.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
It's always good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay on Jura and have been happy staying at Island View. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is greatly appreciated and I hope to welcome you back there some time in the not too distant! All the very best! Thank you again! Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location - a great holiday base”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The 3 bedroomed bungalow has a lounge with a log burner and a large window overlooking Small Island Bay. The beach is 10 seconds walk from the front door.
The single track road up the east side of the island passes the cottage so it is easy to find, but as only 200 people live on the island do not worry about traffic noise. The cottage is near the end of the village but is within easy reach of the shop, pub and distillery.
Island View is a great base for your holiday on Jura, we spent a lot of time walking on the beaches and hills and saw several hundred deer, some seals, sea otters, eagles, wild goats and adders.
The owner is well organised and the house is comfortable, clean and well decorated.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you Ian for your review! I'm so pleased that you found the house to be up to standard and that it suited your needs for your stay.
I hope to welcome you back there in the future. All the very best to you!
Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Having had a break from the Jura music festival last year we were very eager to get back to Jura and Annie's cottage!

It was a fantastic trip and the cottage is perfect for what we need with fantastic views. It was a very relaxing visit and we can't wait to come back again next year :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful surroundings!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thanks for your review, Alex! - it was a nice surprise to get back and find it. I look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th music festival in 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
721MJS
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation on beautiful Jura!”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Jura was everything we hoped for and much more. Staying in Island View made our holiday even more fabulous. The bungalow is beautifully decorated and provided us with everything we could possibly need - even a huge supply of logs for the wood-burning stove!
We were also provided with lots of information about the island, including maps. This enabled us to plan ahead etc.
We hope to return to Jura one day and would not hesitate to book Island View again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
It's great to hear that you had a good time and that all was well with the house! Thank you for taking time to write this review. It is always a good sign if guests wish to return to us. Many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing