We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“And to think ... we nearly never made it!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Island View

The beach in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow The double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow
The double room
The twin room
The living room
The kitchen
The view from the porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Brian S
Hurst Green, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“And to think ... we nearly never made it!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Due to a late decision by us to add Jura to our walking itinerary in a week that was half term and a holiday week in much of the UK, we were struggling to find somewhere to stay. Annie came to our rescue thanks to a late cancellation. What a stroke of luck a) to find somewhere and b) for it to be Island View! Annie could not have been more helpful during our email interchanges as we struggled to make the logistics work. Thanks to her we made it. So glad we did! Island View was ideal for us.It was spotlessly clean and deceptively spacious with two shower/bathrooms, good sized bedrooms, a large well fitted kitchen and a cosy sitting room (we particularly appreciated the wood burning stove after a day scrambling about on the Paps of Jura). Island View is ideally situated, as other reviewers have remarked, with lovely sea views and being in easy walking distance of the shop, the local hostelry and the distillery! It is also an ideal base from which to explore the island. All in all we had a great but all too short stay. We look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attentive owner. Modern bathrooms, cosy sitting room. Location
Liked least: We weren't there long enough.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ideally located clean and spacious house with wonderful views”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our first visit to Jura and we struck gold with this gem of a place to stay!

Island View is a very spacious bungalow with two modern clean bathrooms, a very well equipped kitchen and a cosy lounge with wood burner. The bungalow is 15 minutes walk from Craighouse and the jetty (if coming from Tayvallich) so ideal for us as we were traveling on foot. Easy to find, right on the shore with beautiful sea views from the lounge. You can hail the local bus from the road outside or there is plenty of space to park if you have a car. Wifi and Sky TV were a bonus, along with plenty of magazines for bad weather days - although luckily we didn't have any of those!

Annie was lovely to deal with and very efficient, as well as being flexible in allowing us to book just three nights rather than a full week, whereas other cottages had said no. Having said that, we'd have happily stayed a whole week and explored more of the stunning wild rugged Jura landscapes and beautiful beaches. Our trip this time took in Islay and Colonsay too, but Jura and Island View was our favourite part of the holiday and we will most definitely be back to stay at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: I honestly can't think of anything - all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Would recommend this cottage , clean and near beach .1 mile to walk on the flat to distillery and the shop , pub ! Owner Annie was most helpful as I was wanting to go and visit my neice who has moved to live out there , much to my dissapointment, was struggling to find anywhere that would take my dog , until Annie came to the rescue and obliged my requests , kept me uptodate with everything , very helpful ,and accommodating!
Already booked up for the next visit Xx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley C
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, chilled break with lovely friendly owners.”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This is hard for me to write because I want to keep it to ourselves. I loved this house, location, owners and would definitely recommend it. We love wildlife so this is a wonderful island for to find lots of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very good accommodation with BT wifi access, Sky TV, wood burner in living room, with more than enough wood provided. We were there in winter, but it was warm and cosy due to the electric heaters in each room. Very good location and easy parking. Wood floors throughout were very practical. House is newly decorated and very clean. Would recommend this property as it is exceptionally good value. The best thing was the quick and efficient responsiveness of the owner- admirable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing