We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Golden wedding weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days! Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days!
Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Victorian dining room with open fire
Upstairs drawing room with open fire
Cosy gunroom bar with wood burning stove
Four poster bedroom
1st floor bedroom
!st floor at the front
spring!
children's room
1st floor bedroom
fountain
oak room fireplace
Walled garden
View from upstairs lounge room
1st floor bathroom
Winter view
View from the hill behind Balinakill
View from Dunskeig Iron Age Fort, Clachan (1/2 hour walk from Balinakill)
Tarbert
Conservatory
Garden view
Oak panelled drawing room with open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Clachan, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JP1201420...
Alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golden wedding weekend”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

What a wonderful place. 35 people from 6 months to 84 years old got together for a family celebration. The came from Europe and USA, as well as the "locals". Everyone of us had the most fantastic weekend, which was made possible by this wonderful house. If you are looking for a big place to get together, this is it. It is full of character and tradition, with all the comforts of home built in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardab...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Fantastic Family Get Together”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

I traveled with my Mum and daughter to attend a family get together at Balinakill, we stayed for a long weekend. The home and grounds were beautiful, the staff were timely, attentive, pleasant people. The home amenities exceeded my expectations - bedding was comfortable/clean, full bathrooms attached to each room was a GREAT thing (along with deep tub and showers). Really enjoyed walking the grounds, and across the road to the sea (although neighboring farmer was a bit grumpy when he found us walking across his land, be ware). I'd recommend Balinakill to friends/family. Thanks for a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances F
1 review
“Wedding”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

My son and daughter in law chose this beautiful house for their wedding . The house offered a spacious gorgeous house . The ceremony was on the beautiful lawn area ,the dinner was in sun room which then became a dance floor . The staff was outstanding and meet our every need . The house is well suited and has private salons plus big gathering places . The men loved the separate bar area and wonen loved kitchen area with its fireplace . I had 7 grandchildren and they loved playing in huge lawn . The house is well situated close enough to some small villages which we loved going to .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophsw201...
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful luxury in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We visited Balinakill as a party of friends with young kids. It is the perfect venue to host a number of families as there is plenty of space indoors and outdoors. The grounds are stunning and ideal for the kids to run off any excess energy. Whilst the main draw is the house, a beautiful country house that feels like your own Scottish castle. There are some great public areas, an elegant but cosy panelled drawing room which is delightful to lounge in after a brisk walk, complete with roaring fire. But our favourite room was the Bar, my husband loved playing bartender. The bedrooms are magnificent and grand whilst there is also a lovely upstairs lounge with great views. There are so many things you can do whilst staying at Balinakill House. A beach that could rival any in the Caribbean is 30 mins walk away, worth packing a picnic and some towels for paddling. We also took the ferry to Gigha for the day. The kids loved the boat and it was short walk to a pub on the beach for lunch. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Its beautiful and grand but also incredibly welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Too many to mention but the bar is particularly special!
Liked least: Limited phone reception!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing