We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, not stayed in many better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed one night as part of a business trip. Superb location, lovely grounds, great rooms, really friendly staff and great food. Havent stayed in anything nicer in NE Scotland

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 452 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in a four poster bedroom in May 2012. The staff are perfect, very attentive, cannot fault them. The room was as described, very grand and in keeping with the hotel's history.
The shower was far too hot, I couldn't stand under it. (neither could my husband) The staff the next day were very apologetic and reduced the room cost by £10. There was no full length mirror in the room, no hair dryer (unless I was looking in the wrong place, it wasn't in the drawers or cupboards in the room) and the wardrobe, being of vintage age, was musty so I couldn't hang my dress in it. Overall though it is a beautiful hotel which would be perfect for a romantic weekend away. I would probably stay again but perhaps not in one of the four poster rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for a night as a quick get away while our young son stayed with his grandparents in Aberdeen. When we do this kind of escape, as our time is short, we like everything to be spot on. And it was. Our four-poster room was wonderful! A great mix of traditional and contemporary, luxurious, spacious, light, peaceful..... The staff though were the best part, they were without exception friendly, welcoming, helpful. We had a couple of minor issues and they were dealt with swiftly and easily. We had been a bit concerned about it being too 'golfy' but even though it was surrounded by a golf course, the hotel itself felt like a real luxury get away. Food was great too.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Have stayed here a number of times over the past few years on business, using the hotel to host seminars. First rate corporate seminar facilities, nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. Excellent hospitality, made to feel at home.
High-end pricing but quality facilities and service throughout can justify this...from bedroom accommodation to function rooms to dinners. Peaceful location away from the city - ideal for conferences or a weekend break away.

Room Tip: Ask for the stables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Without hesitation I again chose Meldrum House.This time to celebrate my wife`s birthday with a family and friends dinner party.I dealt with events organiser Lucy who was simply superb.I called up several times for advice or to change numbers and Absolutely nothing was too much bother.
It was a surprise party and all the staff were prepared for her arrival.Everything went so well and all the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.Our dining room was lovely with everone around one large table.The food and service were as usual just perfect.
My wife and I stayed overnight in the Stables and again beautiful room and so quiet and peaceful.
Suffice to say that Meldrum House Hotel without doubt ranks as the very best hotel around Aberdeenshire and is truly exceptional...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKENEBEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
12.5 km away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
649 reviews
11.2 km away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
688 reviews
28.6 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27 km away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
8.7 km away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
155 reviews
27.8 km away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#25 of 65 in Aberdeen
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Oldmeldrum AB51 0AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Price Range: $165 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MELDRUM HOUSE IS QUITE SIMPLY UNIQUE... A stay at our award-winning hotel is the perfect combination of luxurious accommodation and inspired, relaxed fine dining. Steeped in history, the original manor house dates back 800-years. Each bedroom is unique and individually designed with stunning Scottish interiors. Go on a food and drink journey. Starting in our Cave Bar you’ll find over 120 whiskies including some rare malts before heading to our Dining Room where menus reflect the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients available locally. Only 30 minutes from Aberdeen, we also have an award-winning golf course open to hotel residents with a range of packages. Stay in one of the finest luxury hotels Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing