We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ivy Guest Cottage

Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
Side view Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Front view
Side view
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Braemar, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Lianne P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage is small but cosy. It's got everything you need, and it's perfectly clean. There was a lot of construction work going on in the village during our stay, but otherwise the village is lovely. Location is perfect for hiking and enjoying the wonderful scenery. Would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaye c
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The cottage is the perfect size for one guest or a couple. It is small but cosy and had everything I needed for a comfortable week away. The cottage was clean and everything was in excellent working order.
The cottage is right in the middle of Braemar with it's own parking spot. I spent the week walking in the Cairngorms and it was ideally situated for this.
The owner asked me to fill out route details and expected times of return and looked out for my car returning - a reassuring thing as a solo walker.
Braemar itself is beautiful and friendly. There is a useful co-op for basic foods and several gift shops. It is close to other places of interest such as Balmoral and Ballater.
I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and good working order of the cottage would be the thing that would sway my decision to return most
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully comfortable, cosy and spotlessly clean - will return!”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in the self catering "Bothy" (studio) over Christmas and it was really lovely. Tastefully furnished, equipped with everything you could hope for, excellent central heating and spotlessly clean. In addition, Jennifer was a delightful host, explained everything we needed to know on arrival and even helped me clear the frozen snow off our hire car when leaving! Good value for money too - so will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge and very comfortable bed
Liked least: The church bells which start at 8am
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Mrs_B...
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Loved ivy guest cottage. Everything you need & spotlessley clean, wonderful comfortable bed & perfect location in the heart of the lovely village of braemar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage & wonderful location
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowjohn
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“enjoyable stay at ivy cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

we had a very nice stay, the accomodation was spot on really clean & fresh. in a great position right in the centre of braemar ideal for walking biking and lots of other activities. jennifer made our stay a pleasure as soon as we arrived.she had a good knowledge of the area and scotland in general.we had our dog ruddy with us who was also made welcome. we will go back again in the near future and stay at ivy cottage. john & carol bowskill. from north of machester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the stay itself and jennifer,s welcome
Liked least: going back home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing