We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb, very family friendly!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Smarhus Cottage

Cottage frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage frontage
Cottage drive way Living area onto garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Cottage frontage
Cottage drive way
Living area onto garden
Living area
Kitchen/dining area
Kitchen/dining area
Hall
Double bedded room
Soaps & towels
Twin bedded room
Welcome hamper
Shower room
Living area onto deck
Decked area
Cottage from garden
Decked area from garden
Cottage drive way and private parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chorii
Herne Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb, very family friendly!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome from Andrew and Evelyn and appreciated the complimentary basket of goodies. We spent one week in this spotless, modern cottage with our toddler and baby. Evelyn and Andrew thought of and provided everything we needed, including travel cot, baby bath, changing mat and high chair. The location is perfect for visiting Edinburgh, Glasgow and Stirling but there's a basket full of tourist info in the cottage to fill you in on what's around. We'll definitely be back. A wee gem of a place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane08088...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely, welcoming, gorgeous holiday home.”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We received a wonderful welcome at Smarhus Cottage from Andrew and Evelyn. They had added many thoughtful touches to their beautiful cottage. It is peaceful, cosy, spotless and very comfortable indeed. It is very handy for visiting Edinburgh and Glasgow. We have already booked again. We loved it here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady4Lunc...
Aberdeenshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We received a lovely warm welcome from Andrew and Evelyn. They were really helpful and took time to show us around the cottage, explaining where to find everything and how to operate things which meant we settled in very quickly. They have thought of everything with lovely little touches that make a difference. The property is absolutely spotless and is a real credit to them - the photos on the website don't do it justice. It's set in a lovely peaceful location and we were delighted to see deer in the grounds in the morning and evening much to the excitement of our little boy! Just wish we could have stayed longer but hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was just perfect!
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford Suffolk UK
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Far superior to most cottages
Liked least: Mattress too firm (this is matter of individual taste)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ann b
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“5 Star Cottage”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This cottage is the most beautiful place to stay. We stayed for 3 weeks. So clean and relaxing. Andrew and Evelyn could not be any more accomodating if they tried. Easy access to trains to all cities. Close to all ammenities. I recommend this cottage to anyone who likes being spoilt with everything this home has to offer. You will not find any better place to stay whilst in Scotland.
Thank you for making our trip very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything it had to offer
Liked least: no faults. it would be impossible to find any
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing