We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really enjoyable stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
external shot of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
external shot of the cottage
Living room.
There are bits of finishing to be done around the house, but our dining kitchen is looking good!
Downstairs shower room - has WC, shower, sink and washing machine.
One of our visitors took this pic. We like you to see what they see, so here it is, July 2015!
view into the room
the other bed
downstairs hall is nearly there!
Upper hall featuring works by local artists
shot from behind the house down the West Loch
our new sign, made by a local craftsperson, better known as author Di Reed.
Complementary toiletries - hand soap, hand lotion, body wash and shampoo + a mini soap to take home!
East Loch, where the ferry comes in. Also the site of the village and the distillery ( opening soon)
shot across West Loch to the old pier from the upstairs window on a rainy day!
Luskentyre,15 mins drive from the house. One of the finest beaches in the world
Scarista Golf course - 20 mins away
Same location during a winter storm -  every bit as stunning when nature rages
Scalpay lighthouse - one of many lovely walks in the area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BDI30
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky, yet comfortable cottage in good location.”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owner is very up-front, stating that Kelpie Cottage is 'a work in progress' and one has to agree that to be the case. There is a lot of work required to finish off this charming if quirky old cottage and bring it up to scratch. While loved by the owners (understandably), it does need a little TLC. Once this has been done though, it has the potential to be an even better wee place to spend a holiday whilst on the Island. The day we arrived there had unfortunately been a mix up with the (new) cleaner and so the cottage had not been touched following the previous let. However, after a quick phone call and a coffee we returned about an hour later and everything had been sorted. We found the cottage very comfortable and ideal for touring the island, due to its central location. One can walk to the local bars/restaurants in Tarbet in just a few minutes and it's nice not having a long drive from, or to the ferry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
902janisa
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot of work yet to be done”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sorry, but this cottage is not ready as a holiday let. Yes the owner does say the work is ongoing, but it's not up to a letting standard. There has to be one heck of a lot of work this winter if the owner hopes to put up the prices. There is no view (check google earth) The path leading to the cottage is hazardous (steep and slippy). There is not one room that has yet been completely finished. Odd things that should have been done, like the bathroom door not shutting, wiring stuffed behind the kitchen door, only one rug on the cold floors down stairs. The kitchen is equipped with old stuff from the back of the owners cupboards. The frying pan for example was small, badly scratched and dented, it swivelled round on the hob. We couldn't use the dirty oven gloves or tea towels. I could go on but needless to say we won't be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
We are really sorry that you weren't happy during your stay. We've taken on board everything you have said, and we are just sorry that you didn't contact us while you were staying at the cottage so that we could investigate issues immediately and improve your stay. We have contracts in place for garden maintenance and for cleaning, and we will be taking up the points you have raised immediately with those contractors, as we are not happy to hear what you have reported. Thank you for letting us know about the kitchen items. We did buy everything new for the cottage, but it sounds like we need to get some replacements and will investigate as soon as we can. We are sorry that you didn't find the cottage location suitable for your needs and were disappointed with the outlook. We have used as many guest photos as possible to give a genuine sense of where the cottage is at, and are so sorry that you were disappointed. We hope that you nonetheless managed to enjoy all the wonderful sights that Harris has to offer.

Best Wishes

Emma and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kd3010
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kelpie Cottage for four days at the start of July and found it to be a great location from which to explore the island.

The cottage is still undergoing renovation as per the description but we didn't find anything that lessened our enjoyment.

In particular, the two bedrooms upstairs retain original features and were comfortable and very well presented.

The kitchen is modern and well stocked and the living room is very cosy.

In terms of location, everything in Tarbert is within a 10 minute walk (even with a two year old!).

Our daughter loved the playpark in the school across the road - it was trumped only by the beach at Luskentyre!

Can't wait to go back and see the fully finished cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review! We also really appreciate you taking the trouble to send us some of your pictures and have added these to the site for other guests to see.

Hope to welcome you back again soon

Emma and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing