We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish we could have stayed for the summer.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hbutler_1...
2 reviews
“Pleasant location, reasonably well equipped, but furniture very old fashioned”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a pleasant week in this cottage, which overlooks the sea. It was clean and fresh.

It is in a very isolated position, so it was good that the weather was mostly warm and sunny, so we were able to get out and enjoy the beautiful beaches on the other side of the island. The cottage has been in the family for 90years, I believe, and I would think that much of the furniture reflects this.
The kitchen is pleasant and roomy, but only having one bathroom, with the toilet in it, for a house that can accommodate 6 people is really not adequate.

Although the views are wonderful, there was very little outside seating - no patio, or anywhere where one could sit and shelter from the sun or the wind.

There was some very useful kitchen equipment, but when it came to serving or cooking meals, there was a distinct shortage of serving or cooking dishes.

The house was cold when we arrived, and there were no instructions on the use of the storage heaters, so it was difficult to regulate to temperature of the house.

We very much appreciated the biscuits and other 'welcome' gifts.

We were disappointed that there was nowhere in the house where one could catch the sunshine, which meant it was rather dull and uninviting on a sunny but cold day.

Overall, the facilities were adequate, and the house clean and well kept, but the accommodation and furnishings were not really what we would have wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the spacious kitchen
Liked least: Having only one bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the time you have spent on it. Thank you for your positive remarks about location, the view, the kitchen,
the quality of the beds and cleanliness of the cottage. I shall reassess
the points you have raised.
As well as modern equipment and furnishings there are one or two older
pieces of furniture which I feel are in keeping with the character of the
cottage.
Since your visit I have added more cooking and serving dishes to the
kitchen. As well as the garden picnic table and benches there are additional
garden chairs stored in the cottage.
I am sorry that you had problems with the heating. If you had made me
aware of this when I contacted you on your first evening at the cottage I
could have explained all to you and would have done what I could to make sure
that you were comfortable. In future I shall ensure that visitors are
aware of operating instructions which are displayed at point of use and of the
location of the extra ones provided. It is very important to me that
visitors are comfortable and enjoy their stay at Glen Carragrich.
I am sorry that the cottage was not what you wanted and should be pleased
to welcome you if you decide to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W2APF
Snowville, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed for the summer.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I booked Glen Carragrich for a short stay on Harris. It was spotlessly clean, incredibly well appointed and in a delightful location with sea views. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. Next time we will book a few weeks at least!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: No hair dryer(this is picky as it had everything else we could have wanted).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie6311
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Despite the no pet policy, Dina allowed our litttle dog to stay. The cottage is so homely and clean, it is a credit to her. The views are fantastic and despite the inclement weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glen Carragrich. If you want to get away from it all and recharge your batteries, this is the place to come. On the day of our arrival Dina called to welcome us and offer her help with any issues during our stay. Needless to say, we didn't have any!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy18636...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent central location, cosy, spotless and peaceful”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from an idyllic trip to Harris aided by the wall to wall sunshine. The cottage excelled all expectations. Very warm, exceptionally clean and perfectly equipped. My two son's aged 6 & 9 loved it. My elder son, who is asthmatic had no problems at all. We arrived a little late after a long trip to find tea, coffee, fresh milk and orange juice, shortbread and some chocolate biscuits for the children. It was a thoughtful and much appreciated welcome. The location of the cottage is particularly good as it enables one to explore both Islands without extended journeys. Quiet, homely and good value. We would thoroughly recommend it and would like to thank the owners very much for their generosity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful and stunning location and the cleanliness and warmth
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing