We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Curlew Gull and Heron Cottages overlooking the sea loch, Loch Beag, to Portnalong.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Gull and Heron Cottages overlooking the sea loch, Loch Beag, to Portnalong.
Attractive living room Cheerful fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Curlew Gull and Heron Cottages overlooking the sea loch, Loch Beag, to Portnalong.
Attractive living room
Cheerful fully equipped kitchen
A corner of the living room.
Double bed
Kitchen wall with local maps
Winter sunset over the cottages.
A corner of Curlew Cottage
BBQ area
View from the garden grounds
Loch Beag and Struan Jetty
Sea fishing
Loch Bracadale
Storr Lochs
Neist Point Lighthouse
Sea eagle taken on boat trip from Portree
Gesto and the Cuillins
Elgol sunset
Waiting for boat trip to Loch Coruisk from Elgol
The Cuillins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Struan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nina C
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage couldn't have been better --position on island, facilities in cottage and of course the weather was superb. I have already put a good review on my camera club website.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
We're very pleased you found Heron Cottage so much to your taste. We look forward to your next visit and hope to welcome some members of your camera club who might wander up here, thanks to your very kind recommendation and no doubt also on account of your excellent shots of the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monique d
1 review
“all we could hope for”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Irina gave us a warm welcome. The door was open, our name was at the window, there was a homemade lemoncake, which was delicious. Irina gave us some time to unpack and after that she came over and answered all our questions and gave us a lot of usefull information.

The cottage is well equiped, we have a view all over the bay. It looks like a postcard! We very much appreciate the directory with the information of numerous walks: we didn't have to look for any other information to be able tot do several beautiful walks, priceless!

It is reassuring that Irina lives just up the hill in case we need her and she respect our privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you very much Monique. We are so gratified to read your lovely and appreciative review. We're very glad you have had such a wonderful holiday at Bracadale Holiday Cottages. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Curlew Cottage - Bracadale”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in Curlew Cottage while on a walking expedition in the Isle of Skye in Scotland. Curlew is one of three self-contained, self-catering cottages that make up Bracadale Holiday Cottages. The cottages are nicely situated on the west side of the island - a few miles south of the town of Dunvegan near the village of Struan. From the cottage we were able to walk to the island of Oronsay (across the causeway at low tide), Loch Bracadale and the mountain road that leads across the island to Portree. The cottage we stayed in was superb - very comfortable, spacious and extremely well-equipped. The owners (Irina and Tony) were very friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We would definitely return to Curlew Cottage for another holiday in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking in the area
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bracadale and yes the weather has unfortunately been rather unkind this summer. Nothing gives us greater pleasure than to know that we are providing the kind of self-catering accommodation that we ourselves would like to stay in on the Isle of Skye. We look forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perthsain...
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Homely Cottage in Beautiful Area”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been regular visitor to the cottages over the last 10 years and highly recommend staying here for your holiday in Skye. The cottages are immaculate, very well equiped and have everything you require for a self catering holiday. There is oudoor seating with wonderful views over Loch Bracadale and a grassy area suitable for children to play. The cottages are in an excellent location with easy access to the whole island and the friendly owners are on hand if you need any advice on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood Burning Stove
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne V
Neuf-Brisach, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
It was a great pleasure to accommodate you and your charming family Corinne. I am so glad you found the cottage to be all you had hoped for. We very much look forward to seeing you all again very soon. Thank you for your accolade, it makes it all worthwhile for us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing