We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most beautiful cottage i have ever stayed in!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Taigh-Na-Croit

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Staffin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hannah H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful cottage i have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Taigh na Croit really was perfect; comfortable, cosy and immaculately clean. The layout is perfect with a separate utility room, and the owners really had thought of everything. We look forward to staying again next year...and the year after...and the year after...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness
Liked least: no non stick pans
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irf20
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very well appointed, beautiful cottage in very peaceful little hamlet, tastefully decorated and scrupulously clean. The sitting/dining room and kitchen area has windows or large patio doors on all sides with superb views to the Trotternish Ridge and the Western Isles. We had a very wet and windy day during our visit but because the room let in so much light we were more than happy just to stay in, relax and take in the views.
A lot of effort has been put in to make this cottage so comfortable, it may be a holiday let but it is obvious some considerable effort has been made to ensure everything is of a very high standard. This was our second visit to Marishader, our first to the sister property of Trotternish Ridge View and it won’t be our last. This cottage really deserves 6 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eveerything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela C
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing property fantastic views”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Part of me wants to keep this a secret it is such a gem of a place. If you want peace and tranquility then look no further, the views are amazing. The cottage is furnished to a really high spec, just like being at home. It is warm and cosy, relaxing and a great base on Skye, out of the bustle of Portree but close enough to visit. The local store stocks everything and has a great Cafe. Love love love the place. Spotlessly clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann l
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful cottage in quiet, remote location”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our first cottage holiday and if all future cottages are as good as this one we will definitely do it again. The cottage was spacious and well furnished. It was very clean and we immediately felt comfortable and at home. Skye is very picturesque and we got some good walks in, but we were very lucky with the weather.

All in all a good holiday and we would definitely stay here again if we came back.

One thing to note is that it is in a fairly remote area at the north end of the island and makes travelling to other areas quite a long time. On the plus side it is lovely and peaceful and the views from the lounge amazing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samueltlo...
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our two week stay at Taigh-Na-Croit was superb. The cottage was sparkling clean and had all the amenities (including wifi) that could be desired. There was plenty of storage space and lots of room for free off-road parking. The view to the distant hills was superb. We especially appreciated the attentiveness of Mr. and Mrs. MacLeod.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing