We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent! Perfect cottage!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Staffin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jamesscho...
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent! Perfect cottage!”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second time staying at the Old Mill in Staffin and I would love to come back! The cottage ticked every box for me and I really enjoyed staying there.

Upon arrival, the owners had baked some gorgeous biscuits which were very nice. Initially, the cottage had no working internet, therefore I informed the owner who went out of her way to rectify the problem in less than 24 hours by obtaining a new router.

The cottage itself is spacious, modern, comfortable and warm. It has stunning views of a river and mountains, from the second that you wake up in your bedroom and look out of the window.

The location of the cottage is perfect, the Isle of Skye is one of the most beautiful places that I have ever visited in the whole of Europe. The cottage has amazing views nearby of the sea and there are many fantastic places to visit on the Island.

Overall this cottage is brilliant, the location brilliant, the owners are very helpful and respect and I can not wait to book to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainetri...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What can I say we stayed here in February 2017. The cottage is cosy modern and very comfy and clean. Fully equipped kitchen with the added bonus of a dishwasher if you don't want to bother washing up after your meal washing machine (we didn't use either) comfortable clean bedrooms both with en-suites also a downstairs loo log burner in lounge for those colder nights although the cenral heating was quite adequate. The river at the side was a bonus. Would not hesitate to recommend this cottage and if we are ever in the area again would definitely stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mags
Nontron, France
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked the Old Mill for a the Christmas week. It was all we hoped for. Warm cosy and beautifully appointed. Two en-suite bedrooms, a large well equipped kitchen diner and a cosy lounge with WiFi, Sky TV, DVD player and a selection of up to date films, games (no cards but we got some at the village shop) and a couple of jigsaws.
The weather during our week was not too good and Skye and the NW of Scotland were lashed by Storm Barbara with high winds and heavy rain. It was so bad that sometimes the TV reception disappeared! The internet due to a lightning strike on the island was very patchy - not the fault of the owner!
There is a very well stocked village shop with good fresh local bread as well as everything you would need. Be warned that on Skye in the winter months the majority of cafes and restaurants close so don't go expecting to eat out a lot. Our nearest restaurants were in Portree which meant a 30 mile round trip drive in bad weather.
The owner Liz was charming and couldn't do enough for us - she even gave us the Christmas tree she had had in her classroom which really made the cottage seem very Christmassy.
Skye is bigger than we realised but we found that the OLD MILL was well located for various attractions such as the Old Man of Storr, The Quirang and Mealt Falls.
We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough it was all and more than we had expected. Thank you Liz.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosemarie...
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Mill is a lovely cottage which although situated in the heart of Staffin,very near to a grocery shop and a restaurant is actually very private. It is in an ideal place for anyone who wants to explore the beautiful Isle of Skye. Everywhere on the Isle can be reached by road quite easily and many of Skye's premier attractions are very near to Staffin. The cottage itself is clean and comfortable and because of its location offers some spectacular views. The only problem you might have is not wanting to leave at the end of your holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzie491...
Cavan, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week that had sunshine every day except one. The cottage is in the village of Staffin in the NE of the island. The views are amazing all around. It is very well presented & laid out. Everything we needed was here, unfortunately or should that be fortunately we did not get to use the woodburner as the weather was too hot.
The downstairs is very well laid out & very nicely furnished. Upstairs 2 ensuite bedrooms both with excellent showers.
There is sky tv & good broadband, DVD's, books & boardgames.
Would not hesitate to recommend this cottage. It was also reasonably priced & we enjoyed our stay very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely stay at The Old Mill, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is great to hear that you had everything you needed to hand there, as well as being able to enjoy those views from all around! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners and hope that you return for another holiday soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing