We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, great views and awesome...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Baca Ruadh Cottage

Baca Ruadh Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Baca Ruadh Cottage
Lounge/Kitchen/Dinning room Bedroom 2 en-suite made up with 3 single beds 3rd being a folding guest bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Baca Ruadh Cottage
Lounge/Kitchen/Dinning room
Bedroom 2 en-suite made up with 3 single beds 3rd being a folding guest bed
Bedroom 1 double en-suite  with jack & jill bathroom option.
lounge looking to back patio doors
bedroom 1 with sea & mountain views.
hall looking into lounge & jack & jill Bathroom
Jack & jill Bathroom/shower room
Bedroom 2 made up a super king double en-suite
Bedroom 1 double en-suite
lounge with double sofa bed
Bedroom 2 made up as twin en-suite
Bedroom 2 en-suite made up with super king size double & single folding guest bed.
lounge/kitchen/ dinning room with large farmhouse dinning table & 6 chairs
Kilt rock waterfall 2 minute drive from the cottage.
looking along the Trotternish ridge from the quiraing 5 minute drive from the cottage
looking from the old man of storr to storr locks 10 minutes drive from the cottage
looking towards Valtos from kilt rock view point.
Skye shore at night
Staffin Bay
Staffin Bay shore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Staffin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Juliette...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect location, great views and awesome accommodation!”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved this location and views. The house itself was a perfect 2 bed/2bath with large laundry room (washer) and great kitchen. We stayed three nights and spent our days exploring Skye and took advantage of the two Co-op Markets in Portree to stock up on food, wine, beer...Rachel and Doog were very accommodating yet helped us maintain our privacy. Great sea views and sunsets here.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chen X
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage at a fantastic location”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is 20 min drive north of Portree, away from the crowd, right in the middle of many of the famous landscape attractions which are no more than 10-15 minutes drive from the cottage. It is a very spacious 2-bedroom cottage with 2 bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, and a laundry room. A very comfortable retreat after a day full of action. Rachel has been responsive and helpful all the way. It's always been fun to talk to her. And thank you for suggesting us to try the Market Place, the restaurant at such a weird place outside Portree. It turned out to be the best find for our stay on the Skye. We will come again Rachel!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing place and perfect location to explore Skye”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I spent three nights at Baca Ruadh Cottage. Its located about 20 minutes or so north of Portree, the largest town on the Isle of Skye and is set back from the main highway (A855) so its easy to find - good directions were also included - although when I say main highway I'm not talking about some busy motorway. The cottage is wonderful, spacious, very quiet and was nicely and comfortably furnished and had all the amenities including wifi - although interestingly it did not have a microwave - but that was not missed. The cottage is situated where you can view the incredible sunrises from the picture windows in the great room (combination living room dining area and kitchen). The owners do ask you to remove shoes when you enter the cottage so a pair of slippers or wooly socks are advised. We highly recommend Baca Ruadh and only wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location to explore Skye
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Billy D
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“skye holiday home”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the cottage for 15 days and loved every minute of it, it's tucked away from the main towns Portree, Staffin etc. but they are easy to get to from the cottage, just up or down the only road A855.
the owners are great, friendly and nothing seems too much bother to them,
you are almost on the doorstep of the Quiraing and the Old man of Storr, it's a great place to unwind, switch off and get some Me time, If your not a photographer you will be by the time you leave, there are never ending scenes that you will never tire of, be it day time or at night under a stunning display of stars, or Aurora, right outside the front door.
The trip up to Skye through the highlands of Scotland is a holiday in it's self, past Ben Nevis, Rannoch Moor, Glencoe Valley Eilean Donan Castle, and the Skye Bridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness
Liked least: Midge's
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing