We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duisdale House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great quiet location”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Duisdale is set in beautiful grounds, which are incredibly pretty and quiet. It is also just 5 minutes' walk to a secluded pebble beach - great for a paddle and admiring the fabulous views. Overall, the hotel is very comfortable, clean, nicely furnished, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for looking around the southern part of Skye and the Sleat peninsula, where we found some great walks and beaches. If you like sailing, the hotel owners offer day trips around Skye on their private yacht.

However, having stayed in plenty of 4 and 5 star hotels, I would say that it is a little over-priced at £230 per night B&B. The tv in our top-floor room was tiny and barely worked (only a couple of channels and a non-functioning remote control) and the wifi only worked in the hotel lounge (no reception in the bedrooms or on the patio). You should also be aware that mobile phone coverage is very limited here. I would have expected better IT facilities in a modern 4* hotel.

The food was very good. The relaxed menu in the Charter Room is much better value than the "fine dining" menu, which was double the price, but probably not twice as good. There were a couple of charges that I thought were a bit cheeky; a £7.50 fee for 30 minutes in the outdoor hot-tub, and surcharges on 2 of the 3 main course choices on the £45 fine dining menu. I would have preferred these items to be included. Overall, you can expect to pay upwards of £330 per night per couple if you have dinner here.

Room Tip: Choose a garden view room and a room on the 2nd (top) floor) for peace and quiet (eg room 17), as lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisdale_Manager, Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We glad you had a nice time. We discovered whilst you were here that the wi-fi was not connecting about the first floor and we therefore had it prompty rectified. We understand how important it is for our customers and we make every effort to ensure our IT is kept in good working order. We have a static computer always freely available on the first floor which guest both resident and non-resident use at any time for their convenience. There are varied dining options available as you rightly said, and we are glad that the Chart Room Menu, freshly prepared and cooked to order was a more pleasing alternative for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    142
    67
    45
    21
See reviews for
73
395
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Hi my husband I spent a few days at this hotel last week. The setting is lovely, we had a double room overlooking the sea which was nice but I was dissapointed with the size of the room. We couldn't open the windows when it was warm and when it was cold we couldn't put the heating on even though the radiator had a temp gauge ! The telephone didn't work so we reported this. Someone came to look at it but said it was the wires. No one repaired it. For a 4 star hotel I would have expected more. At breakfast there were young staff who weren't fluent in English and didn't understand what we're asking for! Only marmalade on the table no jam on offer and definitely not enough butter! The toiletries in our room were not replenished after being used. It was quite expensive to stay here and I expected a lot more than I got ! I think next time I will try Kinloch Lodge. The beds were hard and needed thicker mattresses.!!

Room Tip: Select a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taloolaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights the staff were extremely helpful, amazing views from rooms,great selections of wines, close to main land and castles we would recommend this hotel,only fault is the hotel only offers fine dining.However the food was excellent however quite expensive.

Room Tip: top floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisdale_Manager, Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and are glad you enjoyed your time with us and on Skye and that you had a safe journey all the way back home to Melbourne. We run two menus at Duisdale. The Fine Dining and the Bistro in the Cart Room, both using the freshest local ingredients and cooked to order. As the Chart Room has only five tables it is always better to reserve a time as it fills up quickly with residents and with visitors from the yachts calling at the hotel moorings for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival we were upgraded and the room was really nice. Staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. We ate at the hotel one night and the food was excellent! Great small patio area with stunning views. Would defiantly recommend a stay here if visiting Skye!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisdale_Manager, Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed your company also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here the night that my fiance proposed and this hotel was a truly memorable experience! From the moment we arrived, the staff were lovely. The hotel is modern and stylish, with beautiful tasteful interiors that match the old style stone house and it's gorgeous winding banisters. On entering our room, I saw an amazing four poster bed! And there was a congratulatory rose on the pillow that my partner had been able to arrange with the hotel. I needed to use the phone which was dead, so the staff kindly let me use the hotel one - very accommodating!

The bathroom had a heated towel rack and robe and was really modern with a shower and bath, lovely. The whole room was very modern with novelty of the fabulous wooden four-poster bed. The TV was quite small and old though, but that's OK - we didn't watch it! the We noticed that the room's central heating came on in bursts, so as we were really cold (it was snowing outside!) the hotel kindly put it back on for us. Would have been better if the heaters wee controllable by the guests though).

We had dinner and breakfast here and it was all outstanding. My partner said that dinner was the best meal he ever had! We had a section of canapes while having a drink in the beautiful lounge, the ushered into the dining room for a delicious amuse-bouche soup, and my main was Roast Loin of Highland Venison, Fondant Potato, Pickled Red Cabbage, Garlic Puree, Thyme Sauce. My finace had Roast Fillet of Scotch Beef, Garlic Mash, Roasted Shallots, Salsafi, Carrots and Port Jus. Divine! Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Small (my partner got a solitary poached egg) but delicious.

All in all, an absolutely stunningly beautiful property, very friendly helpful staff, gorgeous restaurant and beautiful grounds. A delight!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisdale_Manager, Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write about us. It was a pleasure to be part of your memories of Scotland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
1.3 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
58.9 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
36.9 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
53.8 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
36.9 km away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duisdale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Property: Duisdale House Hotel
Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price range (per night): $300 - $2,227
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Otel, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duisdale House Hotel Sleat, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing