We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kerr Cottage could not have been a more...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kerr Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Frances M
Durango, CO, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kerr Cottage could not have been a more comfortable and attractive place to stay for a week!”
Reviewed 2 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Kerr Cottage is possibly the best self-catering location we've ever booked on our multiple trips to Scotland. First of all, Stuart, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated his tips on walks which could be enjoyed right out the front door. Kerr Cottage is absolutely delightful. It feels like "home" the minute you walk in the front door. Everything worked perfectly, and everything we needed was available. I enjoyed the interesting artwork displayed throughout the cottage....even the pull down shade in the bathroom had a lovely painting on it! The garden out front is quite lovely. We never tired of the ever changing views out the windows.....of both the garden and the water and hills beyond. We found the location to be perfect for us....remote and quiet yet an easy (and beautiful) drive to both Sligachan and Portree for good meals and/or shopping.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2018
It was my pleasure to be your host thank you for your kind comments. Regards Stuart Kerr.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Bev B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic get away from it all place that you and your dog can chill to your hearts content.”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Communication from owner prompt, courteous and detailed from start to finish. Cottage was comfortable, well equipped clean, roomy and a great place for our 3 dogs with a large utility room and and enclosed decent sized garden.

Fantastic views from every window. Cottage ideally placed to see the island.

Owner on hand for any queries.

Would definitely recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobelle...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage was lovely and the area is very peaceful
Our dog Max loved the large garden which was perfect as it was enclosed
There is everything you need in the cottage which was bigger than it looked on the photos.
It is a short journey away from Portree and easy to find with the sat nav
Many Thanks for a lovely stay
Isobelle, Rob & Max

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IcyWolf
SD, USA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heart of Skye”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Located 15 minutes south of Portree along a wonderfully rural single track into the historic Breas ... so a GREAT place to explore all of Skye from and a better place to return to after a day of hiking or exploring ...The cottage itself is so much more than the pictures, which were wonderful to start with ... No matter where you looked, gardens, towards the water, the mountains .... picture postcard perfect. And the owner - Stuart - just a great helpful guy ... The cottage was larger than the pictures indicated and so wonderfully comfortable ... You can hear the breezes, you can see so many more stars, and Stuart's garden - are all so wonderful ... The kitchen is well equipped, and the WiFi was more than just adequate (online instructor running a course from the cottage <smile>). Great for one or two couples, or a small family ... Portree has all the amenities, but Kerr cottage (and Stuart) share with you the heart of Skye ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rozbut
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just got back from a splendid week in this beautiful cottage on Skye. `Cosy, comfortable, well equipped, and well presented with care and attention to detail. Beautiful views, great garden and peaceful surroundings. It made our holiday special.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Great Guests always welcome back Regards Suart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing