We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday cottage we have stayed in!”
other travellers have booked this property
Expansive frontage to BayviewCroft with two French doors taking advantage of spectacular open views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Expansive frontage to BayviewCroft with two French doors taking advantage of spectacular open views.
Front view of Bayviewcroft Beautifully maintained driveway and gardens.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Expansive frontage to BayviewCroft with two French doors taking advantage of spectacular open views.
Front view of Bayviewcroft
Beautifully maintained driveway and gardens.
Front garden with open views West and North
Spacious farmhouse style dining kitchen with Rangemaster cooker and integrated appliances
Open concept kitchen/dining area with natural stone feature wall
Spacious open concept lounge with 55inch wall mounted HD TV
Light filled lounge with French door overlooking front garden
Beautiful oak stair leads to upstairs landing.
Natural stone feature wall on upstairs landing relaxing reading spot.
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom
King size bed in master bedroom
Spectacular views  West and North to Portree from upstairs bedrooms
Spacious twin room with two double beds. Additional views south to Cuillins.
Downstairs bedroom with luxury rain shower.
Utility room and downstairs toilet
Bayviewcroft garden with stunning views
The iconic Old Man of Storr   
Skye
Portree Sunrise
Portree Harbour with views  overlooking Portree Bay, Penifiler and the Cuillins
The Quirang North Skye
View from Bayviewcroft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bigsmiigy
1 review
“Best holiday cottage we have stayed in!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Bayview Croft at the end of June as a family of 4 and had a fantastic holiday. The cottage was absolutely stunning having been newly refurbished. It had everything we needed, spotlessly clean and in a great location just a couple of miles outside of Portree. There was plenty to keep our boys entertained nearby with fell walking, stunning scenery, lovely places to eat and a trip on the Bella Jane boat. We are already looking forward to our next trip to Skye and would definitely stay in Bayview Croft again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Hi
Delighted to hear that you all had fun and thank you so much for your review it is very much appreciated.
Look forward to welcoming you all back to Bayview Croft.
Many thanks
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N
2 reviews
“A perfect place to stay for our holiday vacation”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here with my family of 4 and we all loved it. Bayview Croft is a spacious house that has just been beautifully remodeled. There was no lack of amenities as everything was well equipped, stocked and ready for our stay. It has great sea views and a path the kids loved to take to go down to the waters edge. We used it as our location to explore the entire island and it was very conveniently located for our day trip drives. Skye is a truly beautiful island and staying at Bayview Croft made it especially nice to explore. Would happily stay here again for another week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was incredibly spacious and well equipped
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Hello
Thank you for your kind review and delighted to hear that the whole family enjoyed the cottage. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to Bayview Croft and Skye. All the very best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Extremely comfortable modern house in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a lovely house which has been recently upgraded to a very high standard. It sits in its own grounds with wonderful views over the bay to Portree and beyond. Beautiful sunsets when we were there. A car would be essential - unless of course you just wanted to relax and enjoy the view! It is a good centre for visiting Skye's many attractions. We walked at Old Man of Storr, the Quiraing, Sligachan and the coral beach and visited Dunvegan castle and gardens. We very much enjoyed the sailing from Elgol to visit and walk at Loch Coruisk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Hi Helen

Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed BayviewCroft. and Skye? We hope we welcome you all back sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstyliz...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a beautiful spot and a charming cottage.”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for a week at this lovely little cottage in Skye. It was so pretty and we were very lucky with some glorious weather.

The Croft:
Easy to find, the owner provided excellent directions, immaculately kept with excellent facilities. We cooked a few evenings and there was plenty of equipment for us to make a meal. The kitchen was clean and perfectly adequate for a holiday rental, better equipped than some I've stayed in, so well done there. I'm not 100% the oven worked properly, but it might have been me being unfamiliar with it. The welcome pack on arrival was a lovely touch and meant we could have a cuppa before unpacking. There were a few coat hangers, but if you've got lots of hanging stuff, bring some of your own.

The garden is lovely and was such a bonus, looking out with the most gorgeous view in the evening as the sun sets across the water, it's magical. There's a little decking area where we enjoyed a glass of wine in the evening and although we had great weather, the log burner was handy on the chillier evenings. There was a pony in the field behind the house who wandered over most days and the lambs in the fields all around added to the charm of our holiday.

The rooms are quite spacious for a rental, although they weren't the most comfortable beds I'd slept in, bed firmness is a personal preference and I've seen some reviews saying how comfy the beds were, so don't let that put you off. The accommodation is excellent. I could have a done with some idiot proof guides for the TV/DVD/Freeview, but we did manage to figure it out.

Portree is sweet little place about 4 miles walk, which is doable, although there isn't a footpath for a section of the main road into Portree and in summer it may be busy and not ideal to walk with young children. We spent time exploring the Island, doing a boat trip to see the Sea Eagles and generally enjoying the wonderful scenery.

You will need to hire a car, although we did get picked up by a taxi on an evening when we all wanted to drink. We stayed as a group of 4 adults and this little place was just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view/location and it was just sooooo sweet!
Liked least: mattresses were very firm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullD...
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage with superb views”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A perfect location on Portree bay with stunning views, Bayview Croft is a very comfortable and well-equipped cottage in a quiet location with cuckoos being the only sound to disturb the peace early on sunny May mornings!. The views from the windows just have to be seen! The welcome tray was much appreciated and Marie being there to greet us to give local information was really helpful too. The cottage is ideally placed for visiting all parts of the island - must be done - with barely the need to retrace steps. Local services in Portree were more than adequate, with an excellent Tourist Information office. We had great fun sourcing local foods, especially shellfish from The Oyster Shed and a highlight was taking a guided wildlife tour of the island - golden eagles and sea otters seen. Own transport to the property would be recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing