We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
North Facing View of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
North Facing View of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
North Facing View of the house
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bathroom
View from the lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
mcallista...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Skeabost Wood Cottage and can honestly say that we've never had a holiday rental accommodation quite like it. It immediately felt like a home from home. Clever design is evident throughout the cottage but not at the cost of incredible practicality and comfort. It had absolutely everything we would look for in a holiday rental and was warm and inviting on our late evening arrival - we immediately settled in. The location was perfect for exploring Skye and although close to a road, the cottage was nestled in amongst trees and so was very private and quiet with great views. We won't be looking elsewhere for accommodation for our next trip to Skye.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel S
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cottage with glorious views”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This architect designed cottage is really lovely, it feels spacious and is fitted out to a very high standard. The cottage is only 5-10 minutes drive to a supermarket and to all the restaurants shops and cafes in Portree but it feels very private and secluded. It's in a great central place for exploring the whole of Skye. The owners had left us a note and they made us feel very welcome. We felt so relaxed that we just stayed in for the first day and admired the cottage and the beautiful views over fields river and hills. We hope to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranoya1...
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We will be coming back!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We just came back from our week away in Scotland - 4 of the nights we stayed at Skeabost Wood cottage. In short - this cottage is absolutely excellent! The only reason why I was upset was because it wasn't mine :)

The cottage is well positioned, only 5 minutes from main town on the Isle of Skye, yet it is tucked away in a little wood. You cannot see the road and people on the road can't see into the house. That's quite important as there are no curtains (you don't need them because the view is simply superb).

The inside is beautifully furnished, kitchen fully stocked with all the utensils and appliances that you will ever need. And the quality of everything inside is VERY good - we're talking Miele fridge and Le Creuset pots and pans.

The only slight slight criticism is the quality of the duvet & pillow, it felt like they were synthetic. But other than that the cottage is fantastic, a real find, and I think that's the only place I will ever pick again when staying on Skye.. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auntiepam...
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house was obviously designed by an architect: beautiful, clever use of space. Windows and large skylights in every room give lovely views of hills, river, and pasture with grazing sheep. Minimalist decoration and furniture (some handmade) compliment the architectural style of the house. The kitchen is spacious, completely and thoughtfully furnished with everything anyone could ever need. Top quality linens are provided. The beds, one queen and two singles, are very comfortable. Having a powder room on the first floor was a great idea.
The house is centrally located on the island, about a ten minute drive from Portree --- close enough to be convenient yet away from the tourist crowds.
I've stayed in several VRBO apartments and houses and none is superior to Skeabost Wood Cottage. It is truly outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: equally the view and the beautiful design of the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large windows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;