We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked in and checked out in 5 minutes”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Checked in and checked out in 5 minutes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We checked in at tis place however we were appaled at the quality of the accomodation. The room and furniture were old and outdated and very cheap. There was no shower just a bath tub. There was water coming in from the windows, which were rotten and damp and you could smell the damp in the air, room no 146.

The owners were rude. An ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE DO NOT GO THERE EVEN IF YOU ARE DESPERATE

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pnathwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    80
    140
    121
    155
See reviews for
102
204
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
599 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I was traveling in a group and they warned us about this hotel. But, they said it was the best they could do considering we had a group and wanted us to see the isle of Skye. Well Skye was beautiful, but this hotel is not a hotel, It goes back to the 1600 and never was updated. Still the same. The only air conditioning is to open the window, but I could not as one handle was missing, the 13 inch TV said use the remote, but no remote. Light did not work and Bath was just a shower and when I tried to take a shower, it was only ice cold water no option for warm or hot. Thank goodness I could not take a shower, as I would have to walk in get the front wet, step out soap up and step back in and then repeat for my backside. Toilet required three flushes to clear waste. Bathroom had no window and the vent did not work. I will never become a criminal as living in 6' x 8' is not my kind of a vacation. No room to open my suitcase as the bed and the small 3 draw bed stand was what they used for a TV stand took up the entire room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel looks quaint from the outside but extends into a modern wing. My room was extremely reasonable in price so I shouldn't complain but it was very basic, small with what resembled a cupboard as an ensuite. The public areas are tired and rather tatty. The most inspiring area is the fireplace in the main reception/entrance. When I asked to book a table for dinner I was advised that there were to be two coach parties for two separate sittings and it might be in my better interests to book a time outside of these arrivals in case service was slow. It turned out not too bad. The meal choice was limited and quality was average. But it was not expensive so inkeeping with this hotel. I stayed two nights (to allow me a full day to drive around the Isle) and on the second evening a further two coach parties descended. The dining room was therefore too noisy.

Kyleakin is located on the Isle of Skye side of the Skye Bridge and is a better choice to stay overnight than the Kyle of Lochalsh (of no interest), on the other side of the channel. Kyleakin is quiet with apparantly no shops. Being the Isle of Skye, there are understandably many foreign visitors and coach tour parties. Apart from the Cuillin Hillls and some impressive coastal areas and offshore islands, Skye does not compare with other parts of Scotland's west coast in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here with a tour group, so not sure of the cost and therefore whether this was value for money. However, it was comfortable enough. No shower (just a plastic attachment on request to use in the bath) - this was an experience - but that's what holidays are about! It was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the food was good. We loved Kyleakin and Skye and there are no 'modern' hotels, so we had no real complaint. These are the sort of hotels that you remember after a trip because they are unique. This hotel is right on the waterfront so lovely for an early morning walk.

Room Tip: Front facing and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franrich08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebrides
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Not untypical of west highland hotels in that it closes all winter so major investment is impossible. And that is probably what it could do with. But food was good and staff were pleasant. The dining room was OK but the main lounge bar could best be described as soulless. Rooms were functional and clean. Not a top class luxury hotel, but perfectly satisfactory, and with a bit of well-directed TLC could do a lot better.

Room Tip: most rooms are in an extension so are probably identical. There may be some different ones in the or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank settlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
10.9 km away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
14.7 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
49.2 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
55.3 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
53.6 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price range (per night): $114 - $214
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Skye Bridge in the village of Kyleakin; the Kings Arms Hotel offers views across the Kyle of Lochalsh to the mainland. The Kings Arms is one of the oldest remaining hotels on the island dating back to the 1600s, and has retained its traditional Scottish atmosphere of great hospitality and warmth. All rooms are en suite and provide home from home comforts. The Hotel offers the ideal location from which to tour the Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Otel, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Kyleakin
Hotel Kings Arms
Kings Arms Hotel Isle Of Skye/Kyleakin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing