We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our time at this charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Traveling with three adults and two young children. Two rooms-1st room mother and children,
2nd room two adults . We made reservation through e-mails and they were prompt to answer questions regarding accommodations. We stayed in main building and had a great time. Ian, chef and proprietor could not have been more charming. We arrived late and unfortunately had only one night on the island. We hope to return again some time. Breakfast was standard scottish traditional, served in a beautiful room with lots of windows-not a buffet. The porridge was wonderful. Due to timing and the children's likes & dislikes we could not enjoy the wonderful items on that nights dinner menu. We drove into Portree and found a restaurant with more options.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippy1skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

This is not a four star resort but just a simple country inn with a wonderful relaxing atmosphere and the best food I had in my 10 days in Scotland and wales. The lounge and bar areas were very comfortable and the hospitality of the owner was wonderful. This a laid back place where the family does everything. Our room was clean and we slept well. This is an old house and it is not perfect, but it was one of our favorite places we stayed. Again the food was amazing, my wife had the braised lamb, I had sole stuffed with salmon, the duck was excellent also along with the Scallops.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

After ringing a desk bell for 10 minutes to get someone to appear I went into the kitchen to drag the chef out to give us our key. He pointed to the stairs and we had to carry our cases regardless of the guests age or ability up the elegant staircase to our bedroom. I have to say the hotel's dog was very happy to see us and gave us the sort of greeting you would have hoped to have received from the hotel's owner!!. Woe betide anyone who wants breakfast before 8:00am!! You are greeted by a lady who won't allow you into the dining room until the alloted hour and some poor soul sat at a table that was set for dinner later that eveing and her whole party were told to leave that table and sit at a table laid for breakfast. Toast takes a long time as we were told you can't toast brown and white toast together!! When we asked for our bill on our day of departure we were told that this can't be done as the lady who deals with bills was making the breakfast. Obviously everyone who comes through the front door of this establishment are viewed by the management as an annoyance that spoils their otherwise quiet life. On a positive note you are assured of a quiet night's sleep and the public rooms and bedrooms are more than adequate for a hotel of this size and location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MINDLE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

very kind and geniune people run the hotel.well manicured garden.lovely service

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbaiace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

While scrap booking our trip from last Easter and wishing we were back in Scotland this year too, I realized I hadn't made reviews for the trip. When I went to write this review, I was so surprised to read the recent, fairly negative reviews for this Inn. Our stay with our daughter and husband at MacKinnon House was magical. The location was convenient - MacKinnon Country Hotel is right over the bridge at the first round about on the right going towards Kileakin. We arrived late to the hotel and dinner due to some car problems en route and Ian was very welcoming and put us at ease, showed us our rooms, and arranged things so that we had time for unwinding and to have a drink in the "Honor Bar" beforehand. Dinner was amazing - so much so that we booked dinner for our third night on Skye at the hotel too! Breakfasts were nourishing, hot, with enough food to keep us going for most of the day. Ian was helpful with suggestions for touring the Island and the time involved. The room was well appointed with light wood furniture, a Tartan swag above the bed, drapes and curtains that looked great and the bed was comfortable for a good night’s sleep too. Lots of towels, robes, tea tray and wee dram insured comfort. Our second dinner was just as fabulous as the first. We enjoyed the common room fire, chatting with other quests and playing cards whilst sipping some Drambuie after dinner. My only response to those that had less positive experiences than ours is perhaps their expectations were different than ours. This is not a hotel with every amenity under the sun, nor is it a boutique B & B with modern style, it is a cozy manor, with the feel of the highlands, unpretentious and charming. The dinner is extraordinary. Both the accommodation and food were of excellent value. We stayed here for considerably less than our B&B in Inverness and the hotel in Edinburgh. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
Thank MarilynCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
14.5 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
2 km away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
31 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.8 km away
Witchwood House
Witchwood House
#10 of 11 in Kyleakin
46 reviews
26 km away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly the Dunringell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range: $138 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MacKinnon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your MacKinnon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKinnon Country House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Kyleakin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing