We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Dunvegan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2016

The single room was adequate although the toilet wasn't flushed on my arrival. No hot water for shower or shave in the morning not acceptable for a three star accommodation. Restaurant was closed and Bar facilities not offered .Good location lucky there was eating out nearby. Breakfast was fine although limited offerings. Got a cheap deal so non plussed.Not recommended for a chill out holiday due to lack of facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for one with running hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2016

We arrived at 6pm to a locked door and not a sole in sight. The house itself was really cold, waited ages on room heating up and was not what we expected in cleanliness. On the plus side the hot water worked, the beds were comfortable and at breakfast they were very obliging and certainly more chatty than the previous night. Sorry but wouldn't go back as all in all was rather disappointed as not as well kept and homely as advertised.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Nice room, good size, comfortable bed, pleasant staff, great breakfast, economical price.

But little heating in the hotel, and none in my room, which was a disappointment when I stayed there for a few days in the first half of January, 2016, as the outside temperature (and maybe the inside temperature) was constantly about zero celsius, especially as I had been told when I booked the room that the hotel was heated.

In the end, I left a day early.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
Thank trallever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Save yourself a pile of frustration and don't stay here. No hot water, cobwebs on all the light fixtures, 5 channels of TV (if you get stuck inside). Could be a great place to stay with some upkeep and actual staff that gave a damn.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

I felt the hotel as a whole was very rundown. It did not feel like a country house hotel at all. Staff seemed very disinterested, like they couldn't really be bothered being there. The wifi code didn't work for us. Also my friend went down to ask for a bottle opener - the lady was really unimpressed and kind of grunted as she got up to get it. Breakfast took a long time in the morning too. Wont be recommending this place to anyone.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank jpatz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
14.5 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
2 km away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
31 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.8 km away
Witchwood House
Witchwood House
#10 of 11 in Kyleakin
46 reviews
26 km away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly the Dunringell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range: $140 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MacKinnon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your MacKinnon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKinnon Country House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Kyleakin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing