We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough for Location”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Kyleakin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The Isle of Skye is little out the way for your average Indian restaurant. Having savoured quite a few local restaurants we felt the urge for some ethnic foods. Onion Bajhi was nice, Chicken Tikka Dhansak was quite tasty although the chicken could have been a little more succulent, rather than dry. Lamb Cham cham was very tastty. All let down a little by a poor effort for Naan bread. No tandoori oven here. Think pizza without the cheese. All in all quite passable

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NormanDMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2018

We were looking for something different and stumbled across this Indian kitchen. The taste was a bit different from what we are accustomed to but quite good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank pilgrim672015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We got a takeaway from here which was delicious, probably one a the best chicken kormas i have tasted. The portions are a good size and reasonably priced. We would highly recommend and look forward to going back soon.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kim-ber-ley5288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Really enjoyed our meal .staff friendly, very full so lucky to get a table and this was a Wednesday night .
Was able to walk from where we were staying which was a bonus .
Only slight criticism was the flat onion bhaji ,woukd prefer a nice round crispy one ,that though is a personal preference .

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kazhs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

As a curry enthusiast I came here for dinner.
Although it seemed reasonably nicely decorated inside the whole experience was terrible.firstly you are greeted with big signs saying no card payment under £20 !
Anyway lack lustre staff showing you to your table and serving your food.
A smile would and a warm welcome wouldve been nice.
Only a few people in the restaurant which isn't a good sign of fresh food turning over. Anyway I was hungry and didn't want to eat in the shabby hotel I was staying in down the road.
Food want great but seemed ok to fill a gap.
Nan bread was the only good thing I had the lamb Korma wasn't great.
Paid but didn't leave a tip as it was t deserved. I definitely won't be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

Broadford, Isle of Skye
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
 
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
 
Broadford, Isle of Skye
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing