We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

The Three Chimneys Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Colbost
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 45 - USD 115
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Three Chimneys Restaurant is one of Scotland's most iconic restaurants, set in a stunning location beside the sea in the north west corner of the Isle of Skye. Colbost is situated on the shores of Loch Dunvegan, a wide sea loch that opens into The Minch, the narrow stretch of sea between Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The views are stunning whatever the time of year. The Three Chimneys is famous for specialising in the freshest local produce including wonderful seafood from the immediate coastal waters. the restaurant has been owned by husband and wife, Eddie and Shirley Spear, for 30 years. The couple bought the traditional stone-walled croft house in 1984 and developed the business into what it is today, with an amazing worldwide reputation. The Three chimneys has won countless awards and accolades, not least a Michelin star in 2104. Head Chef, Scott Davies and his Brigade of young chefs are passionate about preparing and cooking the finest ingredients available. Innovative dishes and exciting taste combinations are served by a professional young crew front-of-house, who pride themselves in delivering skilful. but friendly and welcoming service at all times. there is an excellent Wine List and cocktails and other bar beverages, including a good range of malt whisky, are served in the Lounge in the evenings to both house guests and restaurant customers alike. Advance bookings are essential and accommodation can be provided in The House Over-By adjacent, or in a number of good quality B&Bs and self-catering accommodation in the neighbourhood.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Brilliant lunch and great service with lovely views

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChloeHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreside, Owner at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thanks - that's great! SS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    302
    135
    58
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The food was ok but overpriced for what it is and a bit overrated. We have eaten in a lot of restaurants and the food was not particularly tasty, verging on disappointing when you factor in all the amazing reviews. Not worth the expense, I would not return.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreside, Owner at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
So sorry that we were such a disappointment. I think I will leave the other reviews to speak for themselves, but all the same, we did not get to where we are today (almost 30 years since we began) without pleasing some of the people, an awful lot of the time. There are always those whom we fail to impress, but we will continue to do our best. SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Give this place a Michelin star!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We secured a last minute reservation at the Three Chimneys during our flying visit to Skye - Absolutely Incredible. We opted for the seven course tasting menu, chock full of simply fabulous seafood, with highlights including lightly battered Loch Harport Oysters served with Rare Black Isle Beef Fillet, Gem Lettuce, Pickled Onion, Parsley and Anchovy and the sumptuous Three Chimneys Hot Marmalade Pudding souffle with Drambuie Syrup and Mealie Ice Cream.

The service was warm and welcoming whilst the staff remained extremely professional and knowledgable about the produce we were sampling. Definitely en par if not superior to any of the Edinburgh Michelin Stars, well worth a trip to Skye. Well done Three Chimneys - truly tremendous.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Reelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreside, Owner at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you very much for your tremendous endorsement of all that we aim to offer our guests and customers. It is indeed a great compliment to be compared with some of Edinburgh's best restaurants. Actually, we have been in operation here for longer than any of them, but still fail to attract accreditation from Michelin! Of coursse we find this frustrating, but do not let it blinker us from our day-to-day work, setting high standards and serving very good food, fresh and seasonal, consistently. Thank you very much for writing. We hope you will make the journey to Skye many times more in the future. SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Outstanding ambience, service, and food. Faultless.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreside, Owner at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you very much. Short and to the point, but very good. SS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold Reception”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have been to the Three Chimneys three times and each time it has been the same old story. When you enter you are faced with someone who has forgotten to smile and then you wait in a comfortable little side part in front of a fire - that's nice. When you do get taken to your table there is that atmosphere of not being able to relax - I am sure the restaurant is some place that many people would like to go but I prefer somewhere more relaxed. The food on two of the three occasions I was there was nothing special

Helpful?
3 Thank skyeman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreside, Owner at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
I don't really understand why you continue to return to The Three Chimneys if you dislike the experience so much? I am very sorry that you do, but fail to imagine any of my excellent team offering you a "cold reception". No harm in reminding us that we need to be on the ball at all times, but if we are not the type of establishment that you enjoy, I am very sorry. Others may not agree with you, as you can see from these pages. My 30 years of experience tells me that it is impossible to please everyone all of the time, no matter how hard we try to achieve this. SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Chimneys Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Three Chimneys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing