We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nature and Tranquillity with comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Leeds_Vis...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nature and Tranquillity with comfort”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

It was so relaxing and peaceful watching the sun setting behind the mountains, the low and high tides of the Loch Ainort by the back garden. Enjoying nature and the company of the uninvited flock of sheep munching the grass right outside.
Laimhrig is very well equipped with everything we need to spend such a wonderful time in the Isle of Skye. The superfast broadband is a bonus, not expecting high speed internet at such remote location.
Good location with easy reach to all attractions in the Isle of Skye, it is 2 hours drive to Fort Williams and Loch Ness, two major locations that you should not miss.
On arrival it was difficult to find the entrance to Laimhrig, beware the entrance is very narrow and steep, you need to approach it with care, it is best to enter on your left-hand side travelling from Portree towards Broadford. If you are travelling from Broadford, it is better to pass the house when you arrive at the village of Luib and then turn around at the next turning, this way you will be able to enter Laimhrig safely. Once you are in, there is plenty of parking space, in fact you can comfortably fit 4 cars outside.
We have a very good stay at the Laimhrig and will definitely recommend it, it is spacious for a couple but will comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. The house keeping could be improved, and the cleaning could be better as we found the house had not been thoroughly cleaned before we arrived, there were quite a few dead flies and midges on the window sills.
It was a nice touch that the owner Gordon called us on the evening when we arrived making sure everything was alright. Really appreciated that personal attention.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelshyK
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chilled out bliss, counting rainbows”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

After an epic 400 mile journey, we felt at home as soon as we walked in to this house. Plenty of room for three of us to spread out, clean, and very warm and cosy without being stuffy. We lost count of the number of rainbows we saw landing in Loch Ainort behind! And yes we spotted a pair of otters! Herons, and other wildlife also abound. On a clear night the sky is incredible. The kitchen has everything you need. There's a decent TV. The wifi is fine for your week away, just slower than the usual so don't expect to download or stream without problems. Nice to have the landline to call ahead to attractions, restaurants etc as I had zero signal on my phone for most of the week (which was great!). There is a big co-op supermarket in Broadford which sells absolutely everything. Would recommend the Glass Bottom Boat, the Granary at Portree, Kilt Rock, Eilean Donan Castle (just on the mainland), Armadale Castle, Dunvegan, and generally just exploring the beautiful island of Skye.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelW14...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreamy in the extreme...”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a place! The photos don't do it justice. Normally by the end of a fortnight in Scotland I'm rested and happy but ready to head home - not this time. I could have stayed forever. A beautifully located home, spotlessly clean and generously equipped - please tell me which pillows you buy, they're absolutely the best I've ever laid my head on! My only gripe, and it absolutely isn't a gripe, is that we came with grand plans to ramble, wander, really go for it...instead we settled in the conservatory on the first night and immediately felt relaxed, contented and totally lazy. Everything you need to entertain you is right there, the views, the wildlife, the weather, the landscape...and the loch for swimming, which was just...well...words fail me there. One of those 'moments of clarity' where everything was still and quiet and I was just bobbing about in circles, watching the seals. Bliss. Alright, maybe words don't fail me entirely. I'm running out of space so suffice to say - JUST BOOK IT.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan s
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven for bird watchers”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location of the cottage is just as the name suggests - right by the shore of the Loch - which means that it is ideal for spotting assorted wild life and shore birds. We were lucky to be able to watch an otter eating his freshly-caught fish breakfast right outside the house, and had hours of pleasure watching Eiders, Scaup, Mergansers and endless families of geese. Plus, the garden was host to many varieties of song birds, finches etc - all feeding babies. And if that wasn't enough, we had the red Cuillin to admire ....
The cottage was very well equipped and warm, with excellent sofas - and even better beds. There were just two of us, so the single bathroom with shower only, was not a problem (the cloakroom toilet was broken on our arrival, and not fixed until half way through our stay) but I think a family or two couples would struggle. The second bedroom is so full of bed that you can hardly move in it.
The other problem is the drive - not pleasant having to come almost to a halt to turn in, with speeding traffic right behind you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class cottage in magnificnet location”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is spacious, comfortable and very clean, reason on its own to book it but the view!!, the view is stunning. Situated directly on the loch side it has a conservatory that looks out over to the loch to the hills and mountains beyond. We were fortunate that while we were staying the snow fell on the hills and it was a magnificent sight to sit and watch from the warm conservatory. We found the downside to our visit was that this cottage, in particular the conservatory, makes you lazy - we came loaded down with all the walking gear to tackle the hills and plans for every day but sitting in the very comfortable reclining chairs in the conservatory tomorrow always seemed to be the best day for walking. It took a lot of willpower and discipline to get us back on schedule. Our advice - if you're going for one week, book two!!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you so much for leaving the review. It's great to hear you had such a lovely stay!! Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing