We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to find, but worth it”
Review of Strongarbh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strongarbh House
Ranked #3 of 26 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hard to find, but worth it”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Had trouble finding, maybe because of roadworks on main street. Beautiful little town. Lovely old manor house.

Asked for room with ocean view. Wonderful view of harbour. Grounds, landscaping are lovely. There is a private lane down to the town so you don't have to drive if you want to go for dinner on the water front, but don't want to drive.

Rooms and furnishings are perfect. Ipad for entertain, no TV, but it really works. Great breakfast. Highly recommended. Don't miss this, a little expensive, but worth it. Top of the line.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
210
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Tobermory at Strongarbh. The house is in a peaceful setting overlooking the town (only 5 mins walk to the seafront) and has been beautifully decorated with lovely rooms, a wonderful library and gallery. The breakfast was fabulous and the packed lunches perfect for a long day out walking or on the boats. They also had Ipads in the rooms with links to the local restaurants and pubs which was a lovely touch. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonners70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Strongarbh House is a jewel. Adrian and Jane have made this wonderful Victorian House into one of the best B&B's on the west coast. Our room looked out to the harbour with views to their garden and the surrounding area.
The room was beautifully decorated with appropriate furnishing throughout. The bedroom is large with a spotless bathroom and all the facilities you could wish for including an iPad.......even better, no TV. They offer afternoon tea and homemade cakes in the library, which includes a sort of free 'honesty bar' where you are welcome to take a wee dram from the various bottles donated by previous guests. What a lovely idea.
To conclude, its in a first class location in Tobermory where you can walk to the various restaurants in a couple of minutes, a great welcome awaits, the rooms are 1st class and the breakfast cooked freshly to your order with a daily 'special'. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get on overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just spent an amazing weekend on Mull despite the tail end of the hurricane blowing in some fairly horrible weather. Our stay was made by the exceptional hospitality of Jane and Adrian in this lovely old house which they have re-vamped in a very modern style. We stayed in Room 2 which is light and airy with lovely views of the harbour. Room is well appointed, with lovely toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, the local Island Bakery biscuits which remained untouched in favour of the delicious home baking every afternoon with complimentary afternoon tea. To help you find your way back up the path after dark, torches are provided although the vanilla scent from the doorstep storm lanterns is a further hospitable touch.

Breakfasts are cooked to order with a daily special every day. All in all a first class B&B which is a real find and although small compares favourably with 5 star hotels for hospitality!!

Would highly recommend MishDish and Cafe Fish for food and a visit to Glengorm Castle which has a great cafe serving excellent locally sourced food. Mull is a an enterprising island working hard to showcase local crafts and produce, shame the only example of 'tourist tat' we came across was in the Historic Scotland run shop at Iona Abbey!!

Room Tip: Were shown Room 1 which is decorated in rich, dark colours with a four poster but preferred the airi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiftynfallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

So it's a little off the beaten track but when you arrive the House is fantastic. This is the best B&B experience I've had and would liken it to boutique hotels that I've stayed in Barcelona and Paris but better. Adrian was friendly and efficient on arrival - fresh tea and scones. The house was spotless throughout. Our room was peaceful with excellent furnishings and taste (with ipad!). The library had whiskey bar to help yourselves (and contribute to next bottle) and gallery was a breathe a fresh air. We loved it! Recommendations made from Adrian for food (Cafe Fish) where we ate both nights we where there. Breakfast was super (best Cranberry juice I've tasted). All in all worth every penny and we'll recommend Strongarbh to anyone who will listen. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london2141234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.3 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
27.2 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
0.2 km away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 26 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
6.8 km away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 26 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strongarbh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strongarbh House

Property: Strongarbh House
Address: Tobermory PA75 6AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price range (per night): $173 - $191
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff above Tobermory Bay, Strongarbh is a handsome Victorian villa providing comfortable and distinctive accommodation. The house, set in spacious gardens and linked to the harbour via a private woodland path, offers a relaxing retreat in the heart of the town. Strongarbh offers luxurious bedrooms, tempting breakfasts and stylish public rooms in a beautiful period house filled with an eclectic collection of books and contemporary art. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strongarbh House Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing