We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely place annd peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lounge
Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Golf5expe...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage unfortunately let down by the owners and agencies administration.”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Be very careful with communication with the booking agent and owner.

My party booked and paid for the cottage in full but one of our party was suddenly admitted to hospital for a heart operation a few weeks before we were due to go, so we wanted to cancel.

They told us that they were not able to re-let it and so there was going to be no money back, I understood this and had no issue with that.

My friends operation went well so two us of decided to still go there, to my astonishment when I told them a few days before we were coming they said that we couldn't have it as it was going to be occupied, It was all very suspicious, at that point and telephone call until I complained bitterly there was no offer given of our cash back.
We eventually took the cottage for 5 days after I complained again and we were given 2 days costs back. I had to book into a hotel for a night as we had a ferry booking, I didn't feel I was fairly treated if I hadn't complained or not arrived we would not have known it was occupied! A real shame it is a great cottage but it spoiled my stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
This review is very unfair and untrue. The booking was made by a Mr Macgregor for 2 couples, we were contacted 16 days before the holiday by Mrs Shaw the wife of the other couple informing us that their friend Mr Macgregor was being admitted to hospital for a heart operation and they were going to have to cancel the booking, we agreed with Mrs Shaw that we would re-advertise the property and if we managed to re-let we would refund some of their money dependant on how many days we managed to re-let. This policy is clearly stated in the terms of conditions when the booking is made. At no time was Mrs Shaw told that we could not re-let or that there would be no money back. She said she would ring nearer the time to see if we had re-let and if we hadn’t they would take up the booking. She left no contact telephone number with us. She rang us 2 days before the holiday to say they would be taking up the holiday, we informed her that we had managed to re-let 2 of the days and they could have the other 5 days and we would refund 50% of the cost of the holiday and not 2 days as the review above says. We transferred this payment 4 days before the holiday to Mr MacGregor. We followed the correct procedures in our terms and conditions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore55...
1 review
“lovely place annd peaceful”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

very comfortable house and well equiped. good position especially being near the ancient ruins of the chapel at the top of the lane

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at the cottage with two friends last week and were delighted with the cottage.
It had everything we needed and more.
It certainly merits it's 4 star rating and more.
Hylda was so helpful suggesting places of interest to visit and was so friendly.
It is only a 10 minute walk downhill to Tobermory but a bit longer on the way up after eating out at some great restaurants! We got a taxi some nights.
We managed to visit all of the island from our base and went to Iona and Staffa, which we really enjoyed.
Arrived home really relaxed

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2018
We're so pleased to hear that you were delighted with Blacksmith's Cottage Ellen, it certainly is well equipped and in an ideal location. There's so much to see on the Island and Staffa and Iona are not to be missed, so we're glad that you got to experience them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegan K
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at the Blacksmiths Cottage for 3 nights in March. Upon arrival, we were delighted by how clean, tidy and presentable to cottage was. The decor inside is beautiful and homely. One of the holiday home managers (Kathleen) arrived within 15 mins of our arrival to make sure that we had everything that we needed and to ensure that we had her number should anything come up. She also took the time to explain the heating to us and point out some aspects of the house. We quickly got settled in. Both bedrooms were spacious and HUGE bathrooms - both en-suites and downstairs bathroom. There was no shortage of hot water during our stay either!! We were travelling with our 9 month old baby and had requested a high chair and travel cot which were both available on arrival. The house was lovely and cosy to stay in and had nice views of the countryside and the water on a clear day. We also had the pleasure of meeting two horsey neighbours in the field behind us which was a nice bonus. We did walk into Tobermory one day and the journey into town wasn't a problem as we were going downhill; however, the journey home was a challenge! The hill doesn't seem that steep when going into town but after a full belly, a few drinks and pushing a pram we felt we were in tough mudder! (probably a clear indication of our fitness level!!) The walk into town took approx. 10 minutes. All in all, we did really enjoy our stay in this holiday home and would definitely recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2018
Blacksmith's certainly is a home away from home indeed - we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! For the less energetic, there are now a few taxi services that can help you avoid the walk home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage!”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I stayed here for the second time in 2015. It is a gorgeous peaceful cottage away from the main road and perfect for Tobermory and the rest of the Island. The large dining kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need. The sitting room has a lovely wood burning stove which makes is especially cosy in the winter months. Upstairs has two lovely bedrooms - both with large ensuite bathrooms. John & Hylda are at hand to give you local knowledge and answer any questions. The perfect location for couples, families or small groups!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2018
We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay at Blacksmiths Cottage - it certainly is in an ideal location with all the creature comforts of home and wonderful to have John & Hylda so handy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing